About Jharkhand Elections

In Jharkhand Legislative Assembly has 80 members, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has 43 MLAs and its ally AJSU has 4. The opposition party in Jharkhand i.e. Congress has 7 members, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 18, JVM (P) 2, BSP 1, MCC 1, CPIML (L) 1 and Independents 3.

The Bharatiya Janata Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha have been the most dominant parties in the state since its formation. Both the political parties in alliance gives a tough competition to yet another major political parties like Congress, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), Rashtriya Janata Dal, Communist Party of India, Janata Dal (United) and All Jharkhand Students Union.

The Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha or the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly seat is at Ranchi, which is also the declared capital of the state. The Vidhan Sabha comprises of 81 Members of Legislative Assembly, who are directly elected from single seat constituencies.

The seats are further occupied by political parties in Jharkhand:

BJP: 43

Ajsu: 4

Opposition (32)

JMM: 17

INC: 7

JVM (P): 2

BSP: 1

CPI (ML) (L): 1

JKP: 1

MCC: 1


NSM: 1


Nominated: 1

Vacant: 2

Related posts

Political Movement in Jharkhand


List of Chief Minister of Jharkhand


Political Parties in Jharkhand


Governor of Jharkhand


Political History of Jharkhand


Famous Political Leaders of Jharkhand