About Goa Elections

94% of Aam Aadmi Party’s Lok Sabha candidates too lost their deposits in the 2014 elections, and that is nothing to really worry, but if compared to the euphoria of winning Delhi, this has to be very low.

Aam Aadmi Party was trying to build their organization in Goa. At the time of Goa Assembly elections, all the parties worked hard and AAP had declared 11 out of 40 candidates. The main focus and fight was between AAP and the BJP. There is a strong BJP base in Goa and AAP had to penetrate into support base of Congress and other regional parties.

Bharatiya Janata Party had won 14 seats against Congress’s 16 in the 40-member Goa Legislative Assembly in 2007. At the time of 2017 Goa Assembly Elections, Congress delivered a fractured mandate. BJP, which had won 21 seats in 2012, saw its tally reduce to 13, four fewer than Congress’s 17.

This time BJP’s swift action and Congress’s trademark indecision helped BJP form government and Manohar Parrikar was sworn-in as Chief Minister of Goa. But in 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, the Goa Forward Party has decided not to contest elections, but support candidates who are representing BJP-led National Democratic Alliance. Goa has 2 Lok Sabha seats and both are with BJP. Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party says that they would be fielding their candidates in the Lok Sabha polls.

In Goa Legislative Assembly, Pramod Sawant is the Speaker of the House and Manohar Parrikar is the current Chief Minister of Goa. BJP has 14 seats and INC has 16.

Related posts

Famous Political Leaders in Goa


Political Movement in Goa


Political History of Goa


List of Chief Minister of Goa


Political Parties in Goa