Andhra Pradesh


Political Background

Post-Independence, Andhra Pradesh was ruled by Indian National Congress for about two decades. Later Mr. N.T. Rama Rao established his party called Telugu Desam, within nine months of formation, this party came into power. Soon party split into two groups and state finance minister Nadendla Bhaskara Rao separated and gained the support of INC. From 1989 to 1994, Congress again remained in power. Telugu Desam Party took the charge once again and Chandrababu Naidu became the Chief Minister of the state.

Political Parties of Andhra Pradesh

National Parties: Bharatiya Janata Party,   Bahujan Samaj Party, Communist Party of India, Indian National Congress.

State parties: NTR Telugu Desam Party, Telangan Rashtra samity, All India Majlis e Ittehadul Mislimeen , Praja Rajyam Party, Lok Satta Party, Majilis Bachao Tehreek, Andhra Pradesh committee of communist revolutionaries, Anna Telugu Desam Party, Mana Party, Nava Telangana Praga Party, People’s democratic front, Rajyadhikara Party, Telangan Communist Party, Telanga Janata Party, YSR Congress party, Telangana Sadhana Samithi.

The Legislature

The state of Andhra Pradesh has a bicameral lawmaking body.

State Legislative Assembly

State Legislative Assembly, the lower house comprises of 294 seats with a term of 5 years. All three quarterly budget sessions-Budget, Monsoon, and winter sessions are held in the assembly.

State Legislative Council

The upper house of the state legislation, also known as Vidhan Parishad has been in existence in two spells – from 1958 to 1985, and from 2007 to date.

Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2014- An Overview

As expected, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) have won the majority of the seats in Andhra Pradesh in Lok Sabha 2014 elections. While giants like INC and BJP hardly managed to get two and three seats respectively. Later division of state-imposed President’s rule in the state.

Upcoming Elections

As it has been seen in last few years in Andhra state BJP has lost its charm and hardly got any seat in previous elections, and is trying hard to improve the image through the campaigns. It would be an interesting watch to see who would get to win amidst the battle for power. Bifurcation of the state has caused a lot of political instability; hence tables can be turned for most powerful parties in upcoming elections.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”andhra-pradesh-election-news”]