About Andhra Pradesh Elections

In 1956 first general elections were conducted in Andhra Pradesh having 249 constituencies representing 26 District. 15 lok sabha elections have been taken place in Andhra Pradesh since independence. Indian National Congress (INC) has won the elections continuously until 1983, when the non-congress government regional party Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was formed under the leadership of Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao. During 1984 o 2004 the politics were two party systems. Indian National Congress regained its power from 1989 to 1994.

During 1995 to 2004 Elections in Andhra Pradesh Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has formed state government. Later 2004 Indian National Congress (INC) formed the government and in the power for 2 terms. Where in 2008 Praja Rajyam Party was formed by famous bollywood actor Chiranjeevi, which is in third highest number of votes in 2009 elections. Later again TDP came into power and is now the ruling party.

State level head Chief Election Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh which was under Election Commission of India has authority to conduct elections in Andhra Pradesh. All the citizens of India above 18 years of age are eligible to vote in the elections but they have to enrol themselves as a voter in electoral rolls. Registrations are allowed one week prior to last date of candidates nominations. You may also check out the Political updates for recent updates of Latest News on Andhra elections.

Main political Parties in Andhra Pradesh:

Telugu Desam Party(TDP)
YSR Congress Party (YSRCP)
Indian National Congress (INC)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)
Communist Party of India (Marxist)(CPI (M))
Jana Sena Party (JSP)

Main Politicians in 2019 Elections:

Chandra babu Naidu
Pawan Kalyan
S. Jagan mohan Reddy.
Nara Lokesh

Related posts

Political Parties in Andhra Pradesh


Famous Political Leaders in Andhra Pradesh


Political History of Andhra Pradesh


List of Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh


Political Movement in Andhra Pradesh