Bihar – an important political center

Bihar has been important and prominent state in Indian politics. Since the pre-independence era; it has played a vast role in the growth and development of the country. The politics in Bihar has seen many ups and downs since then. Also, it is the 12th largest state in India, with an appealing number of voters, making it a prime hub in the time of elections. Indian National Congress has ruled the state for almost two decades post-independence, till Janta Dal under the leadership of Lalu Prasad Yadav came to power in 1990. After a reign of 14 years, Janta Dal lost to a coalition government.

Political Parties of Bihar

The National parties- Janta Dal, Rashtriya Janta Dal, The Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party,

The Regional parties –Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha, Bajjikanchal Vikas Party, Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Mazdoor Congress Janata Party, Republican Party of India.

The Legislature

Bihar Administration has a bicameral legislature comprising of the upper house and lower house.

Bihar Legislative Assembly -the Lower house

Also known as Vidhan Sabha, it is not a permanent body and subject to dissolution. It has tenure of 5 years having elections in six phases to elect the members. Every year three sessions are held quarterly- Winter, Monsoon, and Budget. The total number of seats is 243 including 38 reserved seats for SCs and 2 for STs.

Bihar Legislative Council-the Upper House

Also known as the Vidhan Parishad is a permanent house. The tenure is for six years and it is about 1/3 of Vidhan Sabha. The Governor nominates 1/6 of the members and rests are elected by electoral colleges and nonmembers of assembly.

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections -2014-An Overview

The elections were held in all 40 constituencies in Bihar in 6 phases.BJP won the Lok Sabha 2014 elections by a majority of 22 seats while after all speculations congress got only 2 seats.RJD bagged 4 seats and LJP won six seats only. Mr. Nitish Kumar was elected the Chief Minister of Bihar.

Upcoming Elections

As the General Elections 2019 is approaching, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is eyeing for an alliance with existing CM Mr. Nitish Kumar once again. While the opposition leader, Tejasvini Yadav, Mr. Lalu Prasad Yadav’s son would be gearing up to live the legacy of his father by regaining the power. Amidst all speculations, it is going to be interesting high voltage drama in the battlefield of the constituencies of Bihar where regional parties like JDU and JD have given a top-rated drama in the politics of Bihar.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”bihar-election-news”]