BJP ruled states in 2018

BJP Ruled States in 2018

Pattern of Governence

The most interesting fact about the governance of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is that there are seven states where BJP has been in power for more than 10 years. There are also states where BJP has never been an entrant in the Legislative Assembly in the ruling side. There are multi- aspects with the political pattern of the central government which also suggest that the formation of government depended on BJP being the single ruling party or as a coalition.

Certain state has a patterned government where BJP was as the ruling side as a Majority/Minority party but never had a BJP Chief Minister. India has currently 29 states and 7 Union Territories and 2 Union Territories i.e. Puducherry and NCR (Delhi) has a Legislature.

Following are the states ruled by the BJP alone or through alliance with regional parties:

Uttarakhand, Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar – with JD(U), Assam- with (AGP & BPF), Meghalaya- with (NPP), Manipur- with (National People’s Party, Naga People’s Front and the Lok Janshakti Party), Nagaland- with (NDPP), Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Maharashtra, Goa- with (Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi  Gomantak Party), Sikkim- with (SDF), Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand- with (All Jharkhand Students Union), Himachal Pradesh.

BJP has its own upper hand after having handed the CPM a crushing defeat in Tripura and placed the party in a pivotal position in Nagaland, it is likely to continue the governance in Nagaland. The most powerful political party in India, BJP has increased the number of states under its rule either by itself or as part of an alliance up to 21.

Expansion of the BJP Rule:

The Bharatiya Janata Party has now established a strong presence across large parts of the northeast, one of the two regions (the other being the South) where it has traditionally been weak. The biggest and the strongest opposition in the name of the oldest political party of India i.e. the Indian National Congress (INC) in 2014, was in power in 13 states which has now been reduced to a very short set of three states i.e. Punjab, Mizoram, and Puducherry.

Seven of the country’s most 10 populous states as per reports of 2011 are now National Democratic Alliance (NDA) ruled. In 2014, Narendra Modi government when entered the Central Government in New Delhi, Bharatiya Janata Party ruled just seven states.

Augmentation of BJP:

BJP now rules all four of the states which were termed ‘BIMARU’ states which are now recognized as the fastest growing regions. The economic prosperity and the enlargement of the industrial activities in larger and prosperous states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, and Uttarakhand are also ruled by BJP. The categorization of the India’s growth over the next decade which is estimated to be depending primarily on high performing states also has BJP as its state government.

These states are: Gujarat, Haryana, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

There are increasingly higher possibilities where the government measures to match up the target of lifting 18 million households from poverty for which the targeted states are West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, out of which three states are currently BJP ruled.

Going by the anatomy of the ruling party of India, i.e. BJP; it gives a clear manifestation that the Central Government/ Bharatiya Janata Party will now train its sights on the other states where the political party have not formed its government in the run-up to the upcoming General Elections in India, 2019.


Related posts

Nitish Kumar confident of winning all 40 Lok Sabha seats


The Third Front – Importance in Indian Politics


Political Parties in India


The Great Leaders of India


Amit Shah challenges Mamta in her homeland


FIR filed against Azam Khan over sexist ‘Khaki underwear remark’