Famous Political Leaders in Mizoram

Politically inclined Mizoram, the government of Mizoram is of much interest and like other Indian States the state of Mizoram is headed by a Chief Minister.

The state has given many famous political leaders/politicians.Leaders in Mizoram have been actively involved in the strengthening of the state and of its people. Following are some of the most famous/popular leaders in Mizoram.

Sailo: – Thenphunga Sailo was a brigadier and has served twice as Chief Minister of Mizoram. He was the second Chief Minister of the state and also one of the most famous political leaders in Mizoram.

Lal Thanhawla: – Lal Thanhawla has been serving as the Chief Minister of Mizoram for five times. With being most powerful and most famous political leader in Mizoram, Lal has contested general elections nine times. He is also currently the serving Chief Minister of Mizoram.

Zoramthanga: – He has served as the fifth Chief Minister of Mizoram and has been the Head of the State for two consecutive years. He has represented Mizo National Front. In the category of the list of political leaders in Mizoram, Zoramthanga stands as the most famous political leader of Mizoram.

Ch. Chhunga: – Ch. Chhunga was the first Chief Minister of the state of Mizoram. He has represented Mizo Union, from 1972- 1977.Chhunga has had a major share in getting Mizoram the status of being a state. He negotiated for separation of Mizoram District from Assam state.


Related posts

Political Movement in Mizoram


About Mizoram Elections


List of Chief Minister of Mizoram


Political Parties in Mizoram


Political History of Mizoram