Political Background

Post Independence, Goa had a smooth and stable political system for about 30 years till 1990. Now it is highly notorious for political instability since 15 years, Goa has seen a new government every year. The suspension of legislation in 2005 imposed President’s rule in the state and bye-elections were won by INC again. In 2012, Bharatiya Janta Party grabbed the seat from INC and formed the government by winning 24 seats out of total 40 seats. Mr. Manohar Parrikar, of BJP, was elected as the Chief Minister of the state.

Political Parties in Goa

The National parties are: Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, All India Trinamool Congress.

The Regional parties are: Maharashtrawadi Gomantak, United Goans Democratic Party, Goa Vikas Party, Go Su-raj Party

The Legislature

Goa has a unicameral lawmaking body with a Legislative Assembly.

State Legislative Assembly

Also known as Vidhan Sabha, Goa State Legislative Assembly comprises of 40 members. The sate celebrates 9th January as Legislator’s Day every year after it was declared as a state in 1987. The Assembly is located in Porvorim, Bardez was inaugurated by Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee, then Prime Minister of India.

Goa Bye-Election 2017 -An Overview

The last elections were held in Goa was in 2017, where Congress bagged 15 seats while the BJP won 13 seats only. AAP miserably failed to open an account in Goa elections, which tried it luck for the first time. No party got a clear-cut majority, hence it led to the formation of the coalition government by BJP. Manohar Parrikar was appointed as the new chief minister of Goa. He resigned from the post of Union Defence Minister to take the office of chief minister.

Upcoming Elections

Bharatiya Janata Party is currently running a coalition government in the Goa state. It is quite imminent that BJP would be eyeing for a majority this time. NDA and other regional parties in Goa including new entrant AAP would be fielding their candidates to come in power. While senior leaders from the ruling party have already cleared their prerogative to defend both the seats in Lok Sabha which are being represented by them, would lead to a ferocious battle for power in upcoming elections.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”goa-election-news”]