About Himachal Pradesh Elections

Elections in the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh are conducted as oer the provisions of Constitution of India.

Himachal Pradesh has traditionally voted in favour of anti-incumbency and has seenpower alternate between BJP and Congress governments. However, Congress is on the backfoot with the disproportionate assets case against their then CM Virbhadra Singh. As per statistics, 40% of Himachal youth are under influence of drugs. BJP government had slammed the Virbhadra government blaming it for drug mafia raj. Virbhadra on the other hand was pretty sure of not gaining governance if once lost for the next five years.

Central government rolls out policy at national level and may dole out certain grant but essentially in this, state depends on state subjects and that is something most people do not fathom and may not for sometime.The state laws are generated by the state assembly in regards witrh the local body elections unilaterally while any changes by the state legislature for conduct of state level elections need an approval from the Parliament of India.

The year 2003-2007 was the tenth assembly elections which witnessed the victory of Raja Virbhadra Singh. Virbhadra served thrice as the CM of Himachal Pradesh. The Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election 2012 was held in the state after the five year term of the incumbent state legislature and government expired following the assembly  elections of 2007. The election chose 68 MLAs to the Vidhan Sabha. The Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Electiuons of 2017 was held on 9 November 2017 to elect all 68 members of the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Out of all 68 seats in the Assembly 35 seats are needed for a clear majority. With INC in power in outgoing assembly with 36 seats since 2013, the main opposition was left in the face of Bharatiya Janata Party. State elections in India are often fought on central issues and the results are regarded  as a referendum on th central government’s policies.Last Legislative Assembly Election in Himachal Pradesh were held on 9 November 2017, which witnessed BJP as victorious, and has appointed Jai Ram Thakur as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh as Indian State follows Parliamentary system of government, and elections take place on a first past the post basis, the candidate with maximum votes wins the seat regardless of absolute majority.

Related posts

Famous Political Leaders in Himachal Pradesh


Political Movement in Himachal Pradesh


Political Parties in Himachal Pradesh


List of Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh


Political History of Himachal Pradesh