How Lok Sabha elections take place in India

How Lok Sabha elections take place in India?

2019 Lok Sabha Elections are just around the corner. You might be very eager to know that what the procedure Elections is. Elections in India comprise elections of Rajya Sabha, Parliament, Lok Sabha, legislative assemblies and other local bodies and councils. There are two houses in the Parliament- Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. However, we are discussing about the procedure of Lok Sabha Elections in India.

The Prime Minister of India is elected by Lok Sabha members. The constitution of our country allows up to 552 members in the lower house of parliament.  As per the constitution of India, Lok Sabha elections take place in every five years unless in a state of emergency. The emergency can be resignation or death. This vacancy can be filled by election within six months. The criteria for elections for the lower house of parliament is first past the post electoral system. It means that the candidate with the maximum votes wins the Lok Sabha Election.

Procedure of Voting

The Lok Sabha Elections are conducted as per the parliamentary legislation and constitutional provisions. The election process includes the Representation of the People. The citizens of India give votes. The Voting in the General Election takes place through electronic Voting machines. These electronic Voting machines have replaced paper ballots. After the citizen has given his/her vote an indelible ink is marked on the left index finger. In the last General elections around 1 million Electronic voting machines were installed in various states. From 2013, the Supreme Court of India decided that Indian citizens can give negative vote in the form of NOTA (None of the above).

In last 2014 Lok Sabha elections comprises the electorate of 863,500,000 people and was carried out in nine stages. Also, the total expenditure of 2014 Lok Sabha Elections was around 3765 crore. It was estimated that the cost per vote was Rs. 1375.

Procedure for candidates

The candidates who are contesting elections must file their nomination with the Electoral Commission. After that the candidates’ list is published. However, no party is permitted to use government resources for doing campaigning. Also, no party is permitted to bribe candidates. The campaigning ends two days before polling. The time of the polling is between 7 am and 6.00 pm. The polling booth is the responsibility of the district collector. Also, the Government employees are employed at the polling stations.

All the Elections at the Central Level are conducted by Election Commission of India. The Elections Commission of India is an autonomous and federal entity. It ensures that the election process is fair and free. The recommendation for the General Elections is given by the Government and the notification of election is made by the Election Commission of India. These elections are contested by the various political parties. The political party that got the maximum votes to win the election is invited to form the government. The Government’s life span is of five years

Related posts

Indian National Congress Leaders List


List of Presidents of India


List of Prime Minister of India


Best Prime Ministers in the World


List of Top 10 Famous Political Leaders in Brazil


Women who are a threat to Modi