Indian National Congress Leaders List

Indian National Congress after Independence carried unprecedented goodwill, enabling the party to romp home with huge majority in all elections right from Panchayat to Parliament. Congress in its initial days developed into mass based party, which was possibly made by all big and small leaders who had huge followings in their areas or states. The personality and the conviction of the masses was the core reason for the huge followers of the leaders. However, there is a widening gap developed between the two, as the allegations and the theories of corruption attribute the involvement of the elected representatives and the ministers holding portfolios.

Scroll on to know about the Indian National Congress Leaders list.

Dadabhai Naoroji – Dadabhai Naoroji is one of the earliest political leaders of India, also early educationists to seek clear concepts of Zoroastrianism. He was the first Asian to be a British MP.

Lala Lajpat Rai – Lala Lajpat Rai one of the most prominent figure in the Indian Independence Movement was known as Punjab Kesari, and belonged to the Indian National Congress, Hindu Mahasabha.

Mahatma Gandhi – Mahatma Gandhi was the leader of the Indian Independence Movement against the British Rule, and assuming the leadership of the Indian National Congress, Gandhiji led several campaigns for various social causes to attain Swaraj.

Jawaharlal Nehru – Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India and had ruled India in a most chaotic period from its Independence in 1947. Nehru’s legacy is that of an extremely liberal, socialist and secular leader. Jawaharlal Nehru is the creator of the Planning Commission of India.

Vallabhbhai Patel – After Independence, India was inherited with the division of land into princely states which was dealt with firm and stern actions by Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel who earned the sobriquet of India’s Iron Man.

Subhash Chandra Bose – Bose was associated with INC for a smaller duration, and had extended his full support to the Indian Army to overthrow British rule in India.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad – Rajendra Prasad was the first President of the Independent India and is the only Indian to serve this post twice. He is also considered to be one of the architects of India’s Republic.

Indira Gandhi – Indira Gandhi served as the Prime Minister of India for eleven years and is credited for initiating the Green Revolution in India.

Abul Kalam Azad – Azad rose to fame through his critical work in journalism and became a prominent leader of the Khilafat Movement. By his proximity with Mahatma Gandhi, Abul Kalam Azad obeyed Gandhi’s rule of non-violence civil disobedience. Azad was the youngest person to become President of Indian National Congress.

P. V. Narasimha Rao – Narasimha Rao is known as the ‘Father of Indian Economic Reforms’. The former PM of India also introduced computer based trading system of National Stock Exchange, encouraged FDI inflows in nation. One of the most prominent Indian politicians in Congress party, Rao had strengthened the internal security of India.

Rajiv Gandhi – One of the most dashing leaders, Rajiv Gandhi has diminished the License Raj, gave a push to Science and Technology and introduced the Telecommunication revolution in India. With INTACH he initiated preserving of Indian Heritage, and was the youngest Prime Minister of India.

Manmohan Singh – Manmohan Singh has an immense contribution in lifting the country out of an economic morass in 1991 by an open economy. Under his leadership the country recorded a strong growth. He is one of the most famous political leaders in Congress.

Sonia Gandhi – Sonia Gandhi has been the President of the Indian National Congress for nearly 15 years. She has been instrumental in passing important bills like, National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme and Right to Information Act. She is one of the most powerful woman congress leaders.

Rahul Gandhi – Being the Chairperson of the Indian Youth Congress till being President of Indian National Congress, Rahul Gandhi in his dynast politics has gained momentum and is evolving his party to be the strongest opposition ever.


Related posts

Congress woman leader calls Zakir Naik a ‘saint’!




Women who are a threat to Modi


Read These Books Before You Dream To Be A Politician


‘Ji’ remark lands Rahul in trouble


Top 10 Greatest Leaders in the World