India’s greatest political leaders

India’s greatest political leaders

Following are some of the prominent Indian Politicians with their work and life discussed shortly.

B.R. Ambedkar: – Popularly known as Baba Saheb, was a social reformer and an economist. His social reformation against social discrimination helps him stand as the most prominent political leader in Indian politics.

Subhas Chandra Bose: – One of the most prominent and an unforgettable politician whose confrontational patriotism marked him a hero in his era and also had a pivotal role in freedom of India during World War II.

Jawaharlal Nehru: – He is fondly called as Chacha Nehru. As the first Prime Minister of India he had a prominence in Indian politics even after Independent India. He stood as a leader of prime importance from independent India 1947 till his death in 1964.

Indira Gandhi: – she was and is till date the only female Prime Minister India has ever had. Daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru, she had a ruthless approach towards politics centralization of power.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee: – He was the 1oth Prime Minister of India and had his own prominence in Indian politics. His poetic antics and determined nature to make decisions made him to be honoured by Bharat Ratna Award.

Lal Bahadur Shastri: – The 2nd Prime Minister of India was highly impressed by Mahatma Gandhi and Shastri jee was also an active member in the Indian Independence Movement. He has given the nation the best slogan of “Jai Jawan Jai Kisan”.

Morarji Desai: – He was the 4th Prime Minister of India and had an active role in framing Indian Politics. He even had a major role in initiating peace between two South-Asian rivals, India and Pakistan.

Rajendra Prasad: – He was the 1st President of India. He had a major contribution in Salt Satyagraha and Quit India Movement.

Rajiv Gandhi: – Succeeding his mother Indira Gandhi he became 6th Prime Minister of India, also the youngest PM.

Mahatma Gandhi: – Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi aka Bapu was an Indian activist and the leader of Indian Independence Movement against British Rule.

Narendra Modi: – He is the serving Prime Minister of India. Under whose guidance for the very first time any political party has emerged out with full majority in 2014 Lok Sabha elections since 1984.

Related posts

 What is the Election System in India


Indian National Congress Leaders List


Chief Election Commissioner of India


The Great Leaders of India


List of Prime Minister of India


List of Chief Ministers of India