Political Background

The state of Karnataka was established on 1st November 1956, since then this day is celebrated as Rajyotsava in the state with grandeur. Since formation three main parties The Indian National Congress, the Janta Dal (Secular) and the Bhartiya Janata Party, are dominating the politics of the state. After formation of the state, Indian National Congress was the first party to remain in power till 1983; the famous city of Mysore gave first three chief ministers to the state. The politics of the state has seen many twists and turns and created much hype around the country popularly known as Karnataka’s Natak (drama).

Political Parties in Karnataka

The national level parties: Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress, Janata Party, Janata Dal, Janata Dal (Secular)

Main State level parties: Coorg National Council, Kannada Chalavali Vatal Paksha, Karnataka Congress Party, Karnataka Kranti Ranga, Karnataka Vikas Party.

The Legislature

The legislature of Karnataka is bicameral comprising of both upper house and lower house.

State Legislative Assembly

Also called Vidhan Sabha or the lower house saw it’s the last election in Karnataka on May 5, 2013. It has 28 parliamentary constituencies and a tenure of 5 years subject to dissolving earlier.

State Legislative Council

The upper house or the Legislative Council is a permanent body one-third of its members retiring every two years. Indian National Congress is leading this house, with G. Parameshwara.

Karnataka Lok Sabha Election 2014-An Overview

Major parties like Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC) and Janata Dal (Secular) participated in 16th Lok Sabha elections. BJP won the maximum seats that bagged 17 seats. Indian National Congress (INC) got nine seats and two going to Janata Dal(Secular). According to there were mixed opinions about the number of seats for BJP and Congress but BJP came out as a winner by grabbing maximum seats. The Indian National Congress succeeded to take maximum seats in the bye-elections held in 2017 and formed a government in the state.

Upcoming Elections

The much dramatic politics in the country is all geared up for Lok Sabha 2019 elections. The saffron party is heavily relying on Modi Magic to get them a seat in the state this time. The Congress is high on enthusiasm and ruling the state has equally likely chances to win in upcoming elections. Both parties have strong contenders in the state. It would be a rocky road again for regional parties against the two giants. It is eminently a center stage of high drama politics in upcoming elections.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”karnataka-election-news”]