Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018

  • Election Commission declares dates for Rajasthan assembly elections of 2018.
  • According to survey, Congress may make a comeback in Rajasthan.

The Election Commission on Saturday announced the dates for the upcoming elections in five states which are Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana. There will be 2 phases of elections in Chhattisgarh, on the 12th as well as on the 20th November. In rest of the four states single phase of elections will be held. In Rajasthan and Telangana election will be held on December 7, whereas in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram it would be held on the 28th November. Counting of votes will be taken up in all the five states on December 11 and it is expected that by December 15 the entire election process in these 5 states will come to an end..

Rajasthan Leaders Fighting Against Anti-incumbency

A survey has predicted that the Congress may return to power in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh after a gap of 15 years and it may make a comeback in Rajasthan, where Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, one of the most popular leaders in Rajasthan seems to be struggling against a strong anti-incumbency factor. According to the survey, Congress is best placed in Rajasthan, where its state president Sachin Pilot, one of the most famous leaders of Rajasthan is the first choice of the voters for the post of chief minister.

Opinion Poll in Favour of Congress

An opinion poll has said that if the Assembly polls are held now, the Congress is likely to win 142 seats in Rajasthan against the BJP’s 56. Sachin Pilot, one of the political leaders of Rajasthan leads Vasundhara Raje, one of the famous BJP leaders as the popular choice for the chief minister’s post with 36 per cent voters preferring him, while the latter is the first choice for 27 per cent. Former chief minister and Congress leader Ashok Gehlot, one of the famous politicians of Rajasthan enjoys the backing of 24 per cent voters. The poll says that Pilot, Gehlot and Raje are the first choice of 32, 27 and 23 per cent voters respectively.

BJP is Confident

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had on Saturday expressed confidence that it would register a “record victory” in the upcoming state Assembly elections and retain power in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan. Senior leader and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, one of the most popular BJP leaders had said that the saffron party would secure a record victory on the basis of its hard work as well as the development measures it has taken. He also had hope on the performance that the governments carried out in the three states.

Power Structure to Remain the Same?

There is, however, a huge gap in the projected vote share of the Congress and the BJP in Rajasthan, with the opposition party being backed by 49.9 per cent voters against the 34.3 per cent share for the ruling dispensation. The BJP had secured power in all the three states in 2013 by winning 165, 142 and 49 seats in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh respectively as against the 58, 21 and 39 seats of the Congress.

While the term of the Mizoram Assembly ends on December 15, the terms of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan assemblies are to end on January 5, 2019, January 7 and January 20 respectively. The Model Code of Conduct comes into force with immediate effect, Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat said.

Related posts

Prime Minister meets chiefs of armed forces at his residence


Top BJP leaders including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and UP CM Yogi Adityanath slams Congress Manifesto


FIR filed against Azam Khan over sexist ‘Khaki underwear remark’


Akhilesh’s Uncle Shivpal says, will not field any candidate against nephew


Robert in deep trouble


Congress spokesperson Priyanka Chaturvedi attacks Smriti Irani over her ‘Educational Qualifications’