List of Chief Minister of Jharkhand

Jharkhand, the 28th state of India was formed on 15 November 2000, after a long standing tribal movement for statehood. The state of Jharkhand was earlier a part of Bihar; precisely it was the then South Bihar, a highly mineral rich area with a substantial tribal population. Jharkhand as per the Constitution of India has got its own Head of the state known as Chief Minister.

Know more about the list of Chief Ministers of Jharkhand

Babulal Marandi – Babulal Marandi was the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand and was the most famous politicians of Jharkhand. He is the founder and also the President of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik). He also held a cabinet minister’s post in the government of India. He served his term from 15 November 2000 – 17 March 2003.

Arjun Munda – Arjun Munda was the second Chief Minister of Jharkhand and he also marks himself as the longest serving Chief Minister of Jharkhand. A leader with strong credentials, Munda has contributed significantly in strengthening the party in his state. He belonged to the Bharatiya Janata Party. His term was from 18 March 2003 – 2 March 2005, 12 March 2005 – 14 September 2006, 11 September 2010 – 18 January 2013.

Shibu Soren – Soren, one of the most popular political leaders in Jharkhand, was the third Chief Minister. He served two terms as the CM of Jharkhand i.e. 2 March 2005 -12 March 2005, 27 August 2008 – 18 January 2009, 30 December 2009 – 31 May 2010.

Madhu Koda – Madhu Koda was the fourth Chief Minister of Jharkhand and was also one of the controversial political leaders of Jharkhand. Koda was an Independent politician and remained CM of Jharkhand from 14 September 2006 – 23 August 2008.

Hemant Soren – Hemant Soren was the fifth Chief Minister of Jharkhand and was also the youngest Chief Minister in India. He being CM of Jharkhand carried forward the legacy of his family politics. He remained CM from 13 July 2013 – 28 December 2014 and belongs to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

Raghubar Das – Raghubar Das is the Incumbent Chief Minister of Jharkhand. The Current Chief Minister of Jharkhand is the sixth CM and he belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He assumed office from 28 December 2014.

Related posts

Political Movement in Jharkhand


Political History of Jharkhand


Famous Political Leaders of Jharkhand


Political Parties in Jharkhand


About Jharkhand Elections


Governor of Jharkhand