List of Chief Minister of Nagaland

Nagaland became the 16th state of India on 1 December 1963. Before that it was a part of state of Assam. Now, it’s surrounded by the state of Assam to the west, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam to the north and Manipur to the south while country Myanmar is on its east. As per the Constitution of India, Nagaland also had several serving Chief Ministers of the state.

Read on to know more about the list of Chief Ministers of Nagaland

P. Shilu Ao – Shilu was the first Chief Minister of Nagaland, and had persuaded Indian Government and Lok Sabha to acknowledge Nagaland as Indian state. His term of Chief Minister was from 1 December 1963 – 14 August 1966. He belonged to Naga Nationalist Organisation.

T. N. Angami – Angami served as the second Chief Minister of Nagaland and during his tenure he appealed to the Indian government to grant amnesty to the rebels by convening a Peace Mission. He served from 14 August 1966 – 22 February 1969 and belonged to the Naga Nationalist Organisation.

Hokishe Sema – Hokishe has served the term of CM of Nagaland for four times and was a member of the drafting committee of Naga People’s Convention. He was the first Chief Minister of Nagaland to complete two full terms in instable conditions. He was in office from 22 February 1969 – 26 February 1974, 29 October 1986 – 7 August 1988.

Vizol Angami – Vizol was the fourth Chief Minister of Nagaland and has served two terms as CM of Nagaland. He served from 26 February 1974 – 10 March 1975, 25 November 1977 – 18 April 1980. He belonged to the United Democratic Front.

John Bosco Jasokie – One of the famous political leaders of Nagaland, John Jasokie served as the CM of Nagaland for two occasions and his term was from 10 March 1975 – 20 March 1975, 5 June 1980 – 18 November 1982. He belonged to the Naga National Democratic Party.

S. C. Jamir – One of the most famous politicians in Nagaland, S. C. Jamir was the Chief Minister of Nagaland from 18 April 1980 – 5 June 1980, 18 November 1982 – 28 October 1986, 25 January 1989 – 10 May 1990, 22 February 1993 – 6 March 2003. He belonged to the United Democratic Front- Progressive.

K. L. Chishi – Chishi was the founder Chief of the Nationalist Democratic Movement and had also served as the CM of Nagaland from 16 May 1990 – 19 June 1990. He was at that time an Indian National Congress leader.

Vamuzo Phesao – Vamuzo was the eighth Chief Minister of Nagaland where he served his term from 19 June 1990 – 2 April 1992. However he was dismissed and President’s Rule was imposed in 1992. He belonged to the Nagaland People’s Council.

Neiphiu Rio – One of the most powerful politicians in Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio has served as the Chief Minister of Nagaland for three terms marking him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms. He served from 6 March 2003 – 3 January 2008, 12 March 2008 – 24 May 2014, 8 March 2018 till Incumbent. He belongs to the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party.

T. R. Zeliang – Zeliang was the tenth Chief Minister of Nagaland and had served two terms as the CM of Nagaland. His tenure was from 24 May 2014 – 22 February 2017, 19 July 2017 – 8 March 2018. He belonged to the Nagaland People’s Front.

Shurhozelie Liezietsu – Shurhozelie was the eleventh Chief Minister of Nagaland and was the President of the Nagaland People’s Front. He served from 22 February 2017 – 19 July 2017.

President’s Rule:

20 March 1975 – 25 November 1977

7 August 1988 – 25 January 1989

2 April 1992 – 22 February 1993

3 January 2008 – 12 March 2008

Related posts

About Nagaland Elections


PM Modi meets Sunny Deol, tweets, ‘Hindustan Jindabad tha, aur rahega’


Political History of Nagaland


Political Movement in Nagaland


Governor of Nagaland


Famous Political Leaders in Nagaland