List of Chief Minister of Sikkim

It was on 16 May 1975 that Sikkim, India’s least populous state officially became a part of India. It is for this cause that this day is celebrated as the Sikkim Day. In 1947, Sikkim became a part of India, as a result of which Sikkim’s foreign policy, security and communication came under India’s realm. Yet Sikkim retained its independence.

Sikkim was made a part of India after the 35th Constitutional Amendment and was made a co-state. China did not take very kindly to this and it was only in 2003, during Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s tenure that China acknowledged Sikkim as a part of India.

Read on to know more about the Chief Ministers of Sikkim

Kazi Lhendup Dorjee – Kazi was the first Chief Minister of Sikkim after its union with India. Popularly he was known as Desh Bechua in Sikkim. His tenure as CM of Sikkim was from 16 May 1975 – 18 August 1979. He was from the Indian National Congress party.

Nar Bahadur Bhandari – Nar Bahadur Bhandari was the second Chief Minister of Sikkim and was the first CM of the Indian Gorkha origin. He had included Nepali in the schedule of the constitution and was remembered as the architect of the modern Sikkim. His term in office was from 18 October 1979 – 11 May 1984, 8 March 1985 – 17 June 1994. He belonged to the Sikkim Janata Parishad.

B. B. Gurung – B.B. Gurung was the third Chief Minister of the Sikkim and he was the CM of shortest term in the history of Sikkim. His term was from 18 October 1979 – 11 May 1984 and belonged to the Indian National Congress.

Sanchaman Limboo – Limboo was the fourth Chief Minister of Sikkim and during his tenure the central Act of Other Backward Classes (OBC) was enforced in Sikkim. His term was from 17 June 1994 – 12 December 1994. He belonged to the Sikkim Sangram Parishad.

Pawan Kumar Chamling – Chamling is the current and incumbent Chief Minister of Sikkim and is also the founder of the Sikkim Democratic Front and the party has governed the state for five consecutive terms since 1994. Pawan Kumar Chamling is the longest serving Chief Minister of Sikkim and has assumed office from 12 December 1994 till date.

President’s Rule:

18 August 1979 – 18 October 1979

25 May 1984 – 8 March 1985

Related posts

Political History of Sikkim


Famous Political Leaders in Sikkim


Political Movement in Sikkim


Political Parties in Sikkim


About Sikkim Elections


Governors of Sikkim