List of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu as a stat came into existence after the existing territory after separation of Kerala, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. The political state of Indian named as Tamil Nadu was formed in 1969 where Madras was renamed.

Following are the names of the Head of the state i.e. Chief Ministers of Tamil Nadu

C. N. Annadurai – Conjeevaram Natarajan Annadurai was the first Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and went on to serve another term. He was the last CM of Madras from 1967 until it was changed to Tamil Nadu in 1969. He was the first member of a Dravidian party to hold either of these posts. His term was from 14 January 1969 – 3 February 1969. He was fondly known as ‘Arignar Anna’. He belonged to the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

V. R. Nedunchezhiyan – He was the second Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu who went on to serve two separate terms. He has held a minister ship in the government of other Chief Ministers of the state. His tenure was from 3 February 1969 – 10 February 1969, 24 December 1987 – 7 January 1988. He belonged and was also one of the founders of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

M. Karunanidhi – Muthuvel Karunanidhi, was the former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, and was one of the most powerful politicians in Tamil Nadu. He ruled the state for over two decades of five terms. He was a known writer, and hence Karunanidhi made contributions to Tamil Literature. He was referred as Kalaignar, which means an artist, in Tamil Nadu. His term was from 10 February 1969 – 4 January 1971, 15 March 1971 – 31 January 1976, 27 January 1989 – 30 January 1991, 13 May 1996 – 13 May 2001, 13 May 2006 – 15 May 2011.

M. G. Ramachandran – Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran, was a popular Indian actor who was fondly known as MGR. He served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for ten years and was also the most influential political leaders in Tamil Nadu. His tenure as CM of Tamil Nadu was from July 1977 – 17 February 1980, 9 June 1980 – 15 November 1984, 10 February 1985 – 24 December 1987. MGR belonged to the AIADMK.

Janaki Ramachandran – Janaki was the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for 24 days i.e. from 7 January 1988 – 30 January 1988. Her government was dissolved following the extreme conditions of law and order in the state. She belonged to the AIADMK.

J. Jayalalithaa – Jayalalithaa was an all-rounder if compared her in terms of her affiliation to entertainment industry or the political strength. She was the most famous and influential political leaders of Tail Nadu. Fondly called as ‘Amma’, Jayalalithaa rose rapidly in her political career after joining AIADMK. She has served six terms as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. Her terms were from 24 June 1991 – 13 May 1996, 14 May 2001 – 21 September 2001, 2 March 2002 – 12 May 2006, 16 May 2011 – 27 September 2014, 23 May 2015 – 23 May 2016, 24 May 2016 – 5 December 2016.

O. Panneerselvam – He is the senior leader of AIADMK and is also one of the most popular political leaders of Tamil Nadu. He is the current Deputy Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. He served his term from 21 September 2001 – 1 March 2002, 29 September 2014 – 22 May 2015, 6 December 2016 – 15 February 2017.

Edappadi K. Palaniswami – Palaniswami is the eighth and the current Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. He assumed his office from 16 February 2017 till incumbent. He belongs to the AIADMK.

President’s Rule:

31 January 1976 – 30 June 1977

17 February 1980 – 9 June 1980

30 January 1988 – 27 January 1989

30 January 1991 – 24 June 1991

Related posts

About Tamil Nadu Elections


Governor of Tamil Nadu


Political Parties in Tamil Nadu


Political Movement in Tamil Nadu


Famous Political Leaders in Tamil Nadu


Political History of Tamil Nadu