List of Chief Minister of West Bengal

Bengal was in all a wider area which incorporated Bangladesh in it. With the partition in 1947, Bengal province was partitioned in Indian State of West Bengal. And hence, following the Constitution of India, West Bengal head of the state is known as the Chief Minister.

Following is the list of Chief Ministers of West Bengal

Prafulla Chandra Ghosh: – Prafulla Chandra was the 1st Chief Minister of West Bengal. He had served two terms as the CM of West Bengal. One term he represented the Indian National Congress and for the second he was with the Progressive Democratic Alliance Front. Prafulla Chandra held his office from 15 August 1947 to 22 January 1948 and from 21 November 1967 to 19 February 1968.

Bidhan Chandra Roy: – Bidhan Chandra was the second CM of West Bengal. The most famous political leaders in WB, Bidhan Chandra was actively involved as a freedom fighter. He is said to be the architect of the west Bengal. He served in CM office from 23 January 1948 to 25 January 1950; 26 January 1950 to 30 March 1952; 31 March 1952 to 5 April 1957; 6 April 1957 to 2 April 1962 and 3 April 1962 to 1 July 1962.

Prafulla Chandra Sen: – Prafulla Chandra Sen was the 3rd Chief Minister of West Bengal who was also a well-known freedom fighter. He has served his term as CM from 1 July 1962 to 28 February 1967. He belonged to the Indian National Congress.

Ajoy Kumar Mukherjee: – Ajoy Kumar was the 4th Chief Minister of WB, and thoroughly followed the preaching of Swami Vivekananda. Ajoy Kumar was the active member of the Quit India Movement’s programme named, Civil Disobedience. He served his two terms from 1 March 1967 to 21 November 1967 and 25 February 1969 to 30 July 1970; 2 April 1971 to 25 June 1971. Mukherjee belonged to the Indian National Congress.

Siddhartha Shankar Ray: – Siddhartha Shankar was the 5th Chief Minister of West Bengal. He was a prominent Barrister, and was also the Education Minister of India. Siddhartha was the CM of West Bengal from 20 March 1972 to 30 April 1977. He belonged to the Indian National Congress.

Jyoti Basu: – Jyoti Basu one of the most famous political leaders in West Bengal was the 6th CM of West Bengal. He served his office from 21 June 1977 to 23 May 1982; 24 May 1982 to 29 March 1987;  30 March 1987 to 18 June 1991; 19 June 1991 to 15 May 1996; 16 May 1996 to 5 November 2000. He belonged to the Communist Party of India (Marxist). Jyoti Basu is the longest serving Chief Minister of West Bengal.

Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee : – Buddhadeb the 7th Chief Minister of West Bengal has served his office from 6 November 2000 to 14 May 2001; 15 May 2001 to 17 May 2006; 18 May 2006 to 13 May 2011.

Mamata Banerjee : – Mamata Banerjee is the 8th and the current Chief Minister of West Bengal. Mamata popularly known as ‘Didi’ is the first woman to be CM of West Bengal. She is also the founder of the All India Trinamool Congress (AITM or TMC). She is also the first woman Minister of Railways. She succeeded over the 34 year old then ruling party of Communist Party of India (Marxist) in West Bengal. One of the most powerful political leaders in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee held her office from 20 May 2011 to 25 May 2016; 27 May 2016 till Date. The incumbent Minister belongs to Trinamool Congress.

President’s Rule:

20 February 1968 to 25 February 1969

30 July 1970 to 2 March 1971

25 June 1971 to 19 March 1972

30 April 1977 to 20 June 1977

Related posts

About West Bengal Elections


Political Parties in West Bengal


Famous political leaders of BJP party in West Bengal


Political leaders and politicans of TMC party in West Bengal


Famous Political Leaders in West Bengal


Governor of West Bengal