There is no constitutional post of Governor of our country. The President is Head of the State and the Prime Minister is the Head of the Government in India. Talking in reference of each and every state, there is a Governor who is appointed by the President. There is a governor appointed for each state of the country who is also the constitutional head for each state.

Role of Governor: – Though the real power lies with the Chief Minister and the Council of Ministers of state, governor acts as the nominal head of the state. The basic sensibility to be maintained by the governor is under Article 159 he/she has to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the law as per the oath.

Powers: – The governor has many different powers like,

  • Executive Powers: – The executive powers of the State government are given to governor where, the governor appoints the Chief Minister as well as the Council of Ministers of the state. The governor also has the power to appoint the Advocate General and the chairman and the members of the state public service commission.
  • Legislative Powers: – The governor summons the sessions of both houses of the state and also holds the full authority to dissolve Vidhan Sabha.
  • Discretionary Powers: – The governor has a discretionary power to appoint a chief ministerial candidate if there is no proven majority. A report is to be submitted by the governor to the President regarding the affairs of the state. He/she can withhold his/her assent to a bill and send it for President’s approval. With specific directions of the President, governor can override the advice of the council of ministers during an emergency.

Legal Immunity: – The governor can be subjected to questioning apart from his/her voluntary agreement to testify in court, under Article 361 of Constitution of India. This procedure is followed in case of any controversial deeds or unconstitutional decisions taken by him/her.

Selection Process: – The appointment of governors falls under Article 157 and Article 158 of the Constitution of India, where, a governor must be a citizen of India. He/she should be atleast 35 years of age. He/she should not be a member of either of the House of the Parliament or house of the state legislature. He/she shall not be holding any other office of profit.

Current Governors of Indian States are

State (Past governors) Name
Andhra Pradesh E. S. L.Narasimhan
Arunachal Pradesh Brigadier B. D. Mishra
Assam Jagdish Mukhi
Bihar Satya Pal Malik
Chhattisgarh Balram Das Tondon
Goa Mridula Sinha
Gujarat Om Prakash Kohli
Haryana Kaptan Singh Solanki
Himachal Pradesh Acharya Dev Vrat
Jammu and Kashmir Narinder Nath Vohra
Jharkhand Draupadi Murmu
Karnataka Vajubhai Vala
Kerala P. Sathasivam
Madhya Pradesh Anandiben Patel
Maharashtra C. Vidyasagar Rao
Manipur Najma Heptulla
Mizoram Nirbhay Sharma
Nagaland Padmanabha Acharya
Odisha S. C. Jamir
Punjab V. P. Singh Badnore
Rajasthan Kalyan Singh
Sikkim Shriniwas Patil
Tamil Nadu Banwarilal Purohit
Telangana E. S. L. Narasimhan (Additional Charge)
Tripura Tathagata Roy
Uttar Pradesh Ram Naik
Uttarakhand Krishan Kant Paul
West Bengal Keshari Nath Tripathi


Lieutenant governors and administrators of Union Territories

Office and Union Territory (past officeholders) Name
Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar


Admiral Devendra Kumar Joshi
Administrator of Chandigarh V. P. Singh Badnore
Administrator of Dadra and Nagar Haveli Praful Khoda Patel (Additional Charge)
Administrator of Daman and Diu Praful Khoda Patel
Lieutenant Governor of Delhi Anil Baijal
Administrator of Lakshadweep Farooq Khan
Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry Kiran Bedi