Political Parties in Manipur

There are many upcoming political parties in the Indian State of Manipur, out of which certain goes into merger and some sets up in governance forming an alliance with major political parties of Manipur.

Following are the most famous and major political parties in Manipur.

Major National Parties:

Indian National Congress: – Congress is one of the main and most famous political parties in Manipur. Congress in Manipur was founded in 1997 by Wahengbam Nipamacha.

Bharatiya Janata Party: – BJP is undoubtedly the most famous political party in Manipur. BJP is in governance in Manipur with 60 seats in Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Minor National-level Parties:

National People’s Party (NPP)

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Trinamool Congress (TMC)

Lok Janshakti Party (LJP)

Janata Dal (United) (JDU)

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

Communist Party of India (CPI)

Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM)

Aam Admi Party (AAP)

Regional Parties:

People’s Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA): – This party was founded in 2016 by Irom Sharmila, as a co-convener. The party was launched after a hunger strike of more than 16 years came to an end. The main motive of the party was to end Armed Forces Act in the state of Manipur. This is most popular party in the state of Manipur.

Manipur Peoples Party (MPP): – the party was founded in December 26, 1968 by a group of dissidents from the Indian National Congress. This is most famous political parties in Manipur.in 2007 Manipur State elections, MPP received 5 of the 60 seats.

Federal Party of Manipur (FPM)

Manipur National Democratic Front (MNDF)

Manipur Democratic People’s Front (MDPF)

Manipur Thougalloi Manipur (MTM)

People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA)

North East India Development Party (NEIDP)

Nikhil Manipuri Mahasabha (NMM)

People’s Liberation Army of Manipur (PLAM): – The party was formed on 25 September 1978, and is a separatist armed revolutionary group fighting for a separate independent socialist state of Manipur.

Maoist Communist Party of Manipur (MCPM): – The party aims to establish a communist society through armed revolutionary war. With these Manipur is viewed as a colonial India, and hence the party intends to liberate the people of Manipur. This marks MCPM as the most famous political parties in Manipur.

Naga People’s Front (NPF)

Naga National Party (NNP)

Defunct Regional Parties:

Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP)

Manipur National Conference (MNC) merged with RJD.

Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP) merged with Congress.

Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party (DRPP) merged with Congress.


Related posts

List of Chief Minister of Manipur


Political Movement in Manipur


Political History of Manipur


Famous Political Leaders in Manipur


About Manipur Elections