List of prime minister of Pakistan

List of Prime Minister of Pakistan

The Chief Executive of the Republic of Pakistan is termed as the Prime Minister of Pakistan. The national Assembly of Pakistan functions at the behest of the Prime Minister.

Following is the list of Names of Pakistan Prime Ministers.

Liaquat Ali Khan – Liaquat Ali is termed as the one of the leading founding fathers of Pakistan. Quaid-e-Millat, Shaheed-e-Millat is the titles bestowed to him. He was the first Prime Minister of Pakistan with several cabinet portfolios handled by him. He was PM from 15 August 1947 – 16 October 1951. He belonged to Muslim League.

Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin – The first Bengali leader of Pakistan, Nazimuddin was the second PM of Pakistan, and was also one of the founding fathers of Pakistan. He served his term from 17 October 1951 – 17 April 1953, and was from Pakistan Muslim League.

Mohammad Ali Bogra – The third Prime Minister of Pakistan, Mohammad Ali Bogra again was a Bengali politician and has held several ministerial posts and has initiated a stronger military for better relations with India and personal initiatives for China. He was Prime Minister from 17 April 1953 – 12 August 1955 and belonged to Pakistan Muslim League.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali – The Fourth PM of Pakistan, Muhammad Ali is noted for promoting first set of the Constitution of Pakistan and served his term from 12 August 1955 – 12 September 1956. He belonged to the Muslim League.

Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy – Huseyn was the fifth Prime Minister of Pakistan and has invested his efforts to be known as one of the founding fathers of Pakistan. It was he who proposed the idea of United Bengal. He was in office from 12 September 1956 – 17 October 1957, and belonged to Awami League.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar – Chundrigar was the shortest period serving Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was the sixth Prime Minister of Pakistan and was trained in the Constitutional Law. He served from 17 October1957 – 11 December 1957 and was from the Muslim League.

Sir Feroze Khan Noon – Feroze Khan was the seventh PM of Pakistan and had served as the Indian Diplomat in the United Kingdom before partition. He served from 16 December 1957 – 7 October 1958. He belonged to the Republican Party.

Nurul Amin – The most popular politicians in Pakistan, Nurul Amin was referred to as the Patriot of Pakistan. Amin was the last Bengali leader of Pakistan. The first and only Vice President of Pakistan to lead in the Indo-Pakistani war of1971, he was an Independent politician. 7 December 1971 – 20 December 1971 was his tenure. He was from the Pakistan Muslim League.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto – One of the most influential politicians of Pakistan, Bhutto resigned as President to empower himself as the Prime Minister of Pakistan after the proposed Constitution of Pakistan. The ninth PM of Pakistan, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto was the founder of Pakistan People’s Party. He served from 14 August 1973 – 5 July 1977.

Muhammad Khan Junejo – Junejo was the tenth Prime Minister of Pakistan, he was credible in maintaining Government budget. He was PM from 24 March 1985 – 29 May 1988 and was a Pakistan Muslim League Leader.

Benazir Bhutto – Benazir Bhutto was the first woman Prime Minister of Pakistan to lead a Democratic government of a Muslim majority nation. One of the most dynamic leaders Pakistan has ever had, Benazir promulgated economic privatization and advancement in women’s rights. She was the eleventh PM from 2 December 1988 – 6 August 1990, 19 October 1993 – 5 November 1996 and was from the Pakistan People’s Party.

Nawaz Sharif – Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif has served for the three non-consecutive terms as Pakistan PM and is also one of the most famous politicians in Pakistan. His leadership brought macroeconomic stability with consequential loans from IMF and multibillion-dollar investment with China. His terms were from 6 November 1990 – 18 July 1993, 17 February 1997 – 12 October 1999 and 5 June 2013 – 28 July 2017. He belonged to the Pakistan Muslim League (N).

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali – Zafarullah Khan was the thirteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan, and was the former Chief Minister of Balochistan for two non-consecutive terms. His tenure as PM was from 23 November 2002 – 26 June 2004 and belonged to the Pakistan Muslim League (Q).

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain – Shujaat Hussain was the fourteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan as he was appointed on a temporary basis during a transitional period to accommodate Shaukat Aziz. His tenure was from 30 June 2004 – 26 August 2004 and belonged to the Pakistan Muslim League (Q).

Shaukat Aziz – Shaukat Aziz is a Pakistani economist who brought in political as well as economic progress with improvised privatisation and economic liberalization. He was the fifteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan. His tenure was from 28 August 2004 – 15 November 2007 and he belonged to the Pakistan Muslim League (Q).

Yousaf Raza Gillani – A well-known political leader in Pakistan, Gillani served as the longest and nineteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan, and held his office from25 March 2008 – 26 April 2012. He belonged to the Pakistan People’s Party.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf – Raja Pervaiz was twenty fifth Prime Minister of Pakistan and his term of PM was from 22 June 2012 – 24 March 2013 and he belonged to Pakistan People’s Party.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi – Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was the eighteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan and he is a senior member of the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz). His term was from 1 August 2017 – 31 May 2018.

Imran Khan – Imran Ahmed Khan Niazi is the 22nd and the current Prime Minister of Pakistan. He is the Chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-insaf party. A world renowned cricketer, Imran Khan had a grand and an iconic entry into the political arena of Pakistan which stated the country to witness a tremendous change in the form of favored candidate who promises to create a “new Pakistan” and inherit a country with a mounting economic crisis. His anti-corruption platform during election campaigns is his claim to fame.

List of Caretakers:

Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi – 6 August 1990 – 6 November 1990

Balakh Sher Mazari – 18 April 1993 – 26 May 1993

Moeenuddin Ahmad Qureshi – 18 July 1993 – 19 October 1993

Malik Meraj Khalid – 5 November 1996 – 17 February 1997

Muhammad Mian Soomro – 16 November 2007 – 24 March 2008

Mir Hazar Khan Khoso – 25 March 2013 – 5 June 2013

Nasirul Mulk – 1 June 2018 –



Related posts

List of Top 10 Famous Political Leaders in Singapore


Bahujan Samaj Party


Top 10 Richest Politicians in the World


Top 10 Most Popular Political Websites


RIP Manohar Parrikar-former Defence Minister, Goa CM, veteran politician passes away


Top 10 Educated Politicians in the World