Political Parties in Pondicherry

Assembly Constituencies of Pondicherry are located various significant parts of this Union Territory of India. There are approx. 30 Assembly constituencies in Puducherry, as famously known all of which are strategically situated in different corners of the Union Territory.

Every constituency in Puducherry provides affiliation to various political parties. Members belonging to different national and state-level parties can contest the election by representing their own political preference.

National political parties in Puducherry strive hard to form their own government in this Union Territory of India. There are two major political parties in existence in the Union Territory: The Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The Congress party has its own share in the political arena of Puducherry. The congress-led Democratic Progressive Alliance had also formed the government in Puducherry. The party has its own share of extreme popularity in the region.

Bharatiya Janata Party is another popular and crucial political party which has its own machinery in Puducherry for quite a long time. The sole basis of the party to make its candidate stand in the election is to bring all-round growth in the Union Territory provided and that they have been given a chance to form the government. The basic aim of both the political parties is to bring a new transformation and a flourishing socio-economic zone of India.

The common notion of both the political parties of the Union Territory of India, Puducherry is to take the Union Territory to greater heights. The government in Puducherry consists of a Chief Minister, one Lt. Governor, a Chief Secretary, MLAs and other relatedministers.

The other political parties which contest elections in Puducherry are:

  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • Indian National Congress
  • Pudhucherry Munnetra Congress
  • Communist Party of India
  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
  • Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi
  • Lok Jan Shakti Party
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist)
  • Buddhiviveki Vikas Party
  • Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam


Related posts

About Pondicherry Elections


Political History of Pondicherry


Famous Political Leaders in Pondicherry