Political Parties in Gujarat

There are mainly two major political parties in the Indian State of Gujarat which since the colonial rule are toughest competitors of each other. These political parties are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Indian National Congress (INC).

Following are the listings of most famous and powerful political parties in Gujarat.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): – The 1995 Assembly polls saw a major turn when the then ruling Congress lost the elections to another bigger rival Bharatiya Janata Party, and Keshubhai Patel came to power. That was a major changes in the governance of Gujarat as in the Assembly elections of 2002 also helped BJP retain majority. In 2002 Narendra Modi was elected as the Chief Minister of Gujarat. Till 2007 the win was intact for the most famous and powerful political party in Gujarat. Till date, BJP is the most popular and powerful political party in Gujarat.

Indian National Congress (INC): – Gujarat Pradesh Congress Committee, the Indian National Congress had been governing the state since independence. Congress is also said to be one of the most popular political parties in Gujarat.

Following are the list of Gujarat State Political Parties:

Bharatiya Rashtravadi Paksha

Gujarat AdijatiVikashPaksh

Gujarat State Janta Congress

Gujarat YuvaVikas Party c/oDarbarKruba Transport

JanmangalPaksh Ram Pratap

Rashtriya Gurujan Party             

Rashtriya Komi Ekta Party

Rashtriya SurajyaParishad

Shree Bharat VikasPaksh

Sinh Jan Seva Party


Related posts

Famous Political Leaders in Gujarat


Political Movement in Gujarat


List of Chief Minister of Gujarat


About Gujarat Elections


Governor of Gujarat


Political History of Gujarat