Famous Political Leaders in Kerala

Shashi Tharoor: – Tharoor is a former diplomat and an Indian politician who is currently serving as the Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. An acclaimed writer, Tharoor is a member of Indian National Congress and was the official spokesperson for the party. He was also the minister of state in the External Affairs Ministry. He was a career official at the United Nations from where he rose to be in the rank of Under-Secretary General for Communications and Public Information.

K. Karunakaran: – Karunakaran was an Indian politician and was from Indian National Congress party. Karunakaran served as the Chief Minister of Kerala for four times for a brief period.He proved to be a politician of substance in the development of infrastructure projects in Kerala and for which he was admired by all political parties. He was one of the top 10 politicians in Kerala. K. Karunakaran was close to former Prime Minister’s Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi.

V. S. Achuthanandan: – Achuthanandan was Chief Minister of Kerala for a brief period from 2006 to 2011. He was one of the founding leaders of Communist Party of India (Marxist). He is no doubt one of the most famous political leaders in Kerala as he initiated several programs which benefitted the state directly.

Oommen Chandy: – Chandy is a senior leader of Indian National Congress and has also served twice as the Chief Minister of Kerala from 2004 to 2006 and from 2011 to 2016. He had his presence in the political arena of Kerala for a brief period of time. Chandy is also a Member of the Kerala Legislative Assembly, representing Puthuppally since 1970. Chandy distinguishes himself to be the top 10 leaders of Kerala.

Pinarayi Vijayan: – Vijayan is an Indian politician and is a member of the Politburo of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). He is also the current Chief Minister of Kerala and has commenced office since 25 May 2016.he was the longest serving secretary of the Kerala State Committee of the CPI (M) from 1998 to 2015.

A.K. Antony: – Antony has served as Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha representing the State of Kerala. He is currently serving as the Chairman of the Disciplinary Action Committee of All India Congress Committee. Antony has also served as the 8th Chief Minister of Kerala who was also the youngest Chief Minister of the State. Antony founded Congress (A) a splinter group from Indian National Congress after some internal rift with Indira Gandhi, for inner party politics. Later formed a coalition with LDF and then going back to congress. Antony wasn’t assigned any office till the death of Indira Gandhi.

E. M. S. Namboodiripad: – Popularly known as EMS, was an Indian Communist politician who was also the first Chief Minister to be appointed of Kerala. He served twice for the Chief Minister office from 1957-59 and then again from 1967-69. He became first non-Indian National Congress Chief Minister in the Indian Republic. He pioneered many reforms in different fields in the state of Kerala. This outshines him to be the most famous political leaders in Kerala.

Related posts

Political Movement in Kerala


List of Chief Minister of Kerala


About Kerala Elections


Political History of Kerala


Political Parties in Kerala