Famous Political Leaders in Maharashtra

The state of Maharashtra has witnessed many prominent faces in terms of leadership who had played an immensely important role in framing political structure of the politics of Maharashtra.

Following are some of the names of most popular political leaders in Maharashtra.

Bal Thackeray: – Bal Keshav Thackeray had founded Shiv Sena, a Hindu right –wing Marathi ethnocentric party. Basically a cartoonist with English daily, Balasaheb Thackeray had widely advocated the interests of Maharashtrians in the region.

Gopinath Munde: – Munde was a senior leader in Maharashtra and represented Bharatiya Janata Party. One of the most powerful and famous leaders in Maharashtra Munde had served as the Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Narayan Rane: – Rane an Indian Politician has served as Chief Minister of the state of Maharashtra. He has represented Maharashtra Swabhimaan Paksh. He was also affiliated to Indian National Congress and Shiv Sena. He indeed was one of the popular leaders in Maharashtra.

Nitin Gadkari: – Gadkari has served as the President of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Maharashtra, and currently is Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Shipping and Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation. He is a prominent political leader in Maharashtra.

Devendra Fadnavis: – Devendra Gangadharrao Fadnavis is an Indian Politician and currently serving as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He represents Bharatiya Janata Party in Maharashtra and is one of the most famous and popular political leaders in Maharashtra.

Vilasrao Deshmukh: – Vilasrao Deshmukh has a prominence in Maharashtra politics. He served two terms as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra. He represented Indian National Congress. He was one of the top 10 most powerful politicians in Maharashtra.

Pramod Mahajan: – Pramod Vyankatesh Mahajan was an Indian Politician from Maharashtra. He represented Bharatiya Janata Party in Maharashtra. Undoubtedly he was the most powerful and famous political leaders in Maharashtra.

Raj Thackeray: – Raj is founder and president of the right-wing Marathi regional political party Maharashtra Navnirman Sena. He is the nephew of Balasaheb Thackeray, and is one of the most popular political leaders in Maharashtra.

Uddhav Thackeray: The son of Bal Thackeray, Uddhav Bal Keshav Thackeray is the working President of Shiv Sena. He is undoubtedly a prominent leader and contestant of the upcoming general election. Moreover his effective political and family background boosts his career in the race of politics.

Nanabhau Falgunrao Patole: Popularly known as Nana Patole, was a former MP representing BJP in the 16th Lok Sabha election. He was a representative of the Bhandara-gondiya constituency if Maharashtra. Recently Patole left BJP because he had ideological differences with PM Narendra Modi, and had joined Congress party for upcoming elections.

Praful Patel: Another popular leader of the Congress party, Patel too hails from a renowned family. His father Manoharbhai Patel was a businessman and leader of Indian National Congress. His political background is expected to serve well for the upcoming by polls, his rival being Nana Patio from the same constituency.

Related posts

List of famous political leaders in BJP party Maharashtra


Famous political leaders in Shiv Sena in Maharashtra


Governor of Maharashtra


Political Parties in Maharashtra


Political History of Maharashtra


Famous political leaders in Congress party Maharashtra