Maharashtra Political Background

Maharashtra being the third largest state and hub of political activities holds an important place in Indian politics. After the independence, many political stalwarts demanded the state to be further divided on the basis of language. The present state of Maharashtra was carved out of the united region, according to the States Reorganization Act of 1956. Indian National Congress made the first government of the politically rich state and Yashwantrao Chavan of the party became the first Chief Minister. Majority of the population speaks Marathi in the state, making a multi-regional party state.

Political parties in Maharashtra

The national parties are: Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Communist Party of India, Marxist (CPIM), Communist Party of India (CPI), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

The regional parties are: Shiv Sena, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), Janata Dal (United) – JD(U), Janata Dal (Secular) – JD(S), Republican Left Democratic Front (RIDALOS), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), Republican Party of India (RPI), Republican Party of India (Khobragade) – RPK, All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) – CPI (ML) (L), Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA), Samajwadi Party (SP), Lok Jan Shakti Party, Peasants and Workers Party of India (PWPI)

The Legislature

The state of Maharashtra has a bicameral legislature- Maharashtra Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council

State Legislative Assembly

The Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha or the State Legislative Assembly is situated in the capital city of Mumbai and comprises of 288  seats which are represented by 288 MLAs. The term of the legislative assembly is five years, subject to dissolve sooner or not.

State Legislative Council

The Maharashtra Vidhan Parishad or the Legislative Council is also situated in Mumbai and comprises of 78 members, 12 of whom are nominated by the governor and the rest being indirectly elected through the Electoral College. This is a continuous house where one-third of the members retire every second year.

Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2014- An Overview

The 16th Lok Sabha elections took place in three phases in the state for 48 Lok Sabha seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took the majority of the seats by grabbing 23 in total followed Shiv Sena which bagged 18 seats. Many political parties like Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), and Shiv Sena, NCP etc took part in the election, but in spite of rigorous campaigning, they had a hard luck.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”maharashtra-election-news”]