Meghalaya Political Background

Meghalaya, a hilly northeastern state was carved out of the state of Assam on 21st January 1972, from the year 1957 to 1971; Meghalaya was represented in the Lok Sabha as an autonomous district of Assam.  The state comprises of two divisions and seven districts. The first Chief Minister of the state Shri W A Sangma was appointed uncontested. The main political parties in the state have been The Meghalaya Progressive Alliance (MPA) was the ruling coalition of political parties that formed the Government in the state of Meghalaya, from 2008 to 2009. It was then led by the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the United Democratic Party (UDP) who are the second and third largest parties according to 8th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

The Main Political Parties are

The Indian National Congress (INC), The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), Garo National Council, Nationalist Congress Party, Janata Dal (United), National People’s Party, United Democratic Party, Hill State People’s Democratic Party, North East Social Democratic Party, Meghalaya Democratic Party

The Legislature

Meghalaya has a unicameral legislature as it has only one house of the state legislative assembly also called the Vidhan Sabha.

State Legislative Assembly

The state legislative assembly also called Vidhan Sabha comprises of 60 seats of Legislative Assembly that are elected directly for 5 years. In the parliament, the state has two Lok Sabha seats and one Rajya Sabha seat without any reservation for tribal communities. Recently in 2018, Assembly elections were held in the state and last assembly elections were held in 2013 with 88% voter turnout.

Meghalaya Assembly Election 2018- An Overview

The state of Meghalaya recently had Assembly poll on 27 February 2018. The polls were conducted for 60 seats in the House in which 55 are reserved for ST candidates and 5 seats are for General candidates. Total 372 candidates participated in the elections. The results were not in favor of BJP as expected,     Indian National Congress (INC) bagged 59 seats while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)   followed by   47 seats. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had to satisfy with only 8 seats.

Upcoming Elections

The assembly elections were not in favor of Bharatiya Janta Party in the state like other two northeastern states where BJP won by a large number of votes. But it has not wavered BJP’s plan to win Lok Sabha Elections in the state this time. While the opposition party, Congress has increased its campaign to retain its victory in the state. The regional parties are also queuing up to give a dramatic result once again.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”meghalaya-election-news”]