NATIONALIST CONGRESS PARTY and famous political leaders list

Nationalist Congress Party

  • Nationalist Congress Party has several youth wings. To name a few, Nationalist Youth Congress, Nationalist Yuvati Congress, Rashtravadi Yuvati Congress. Women’s wing is named Nationalist Mahila Congress.
  • Tariq Anwar left the party after several conflicts and disputes in ideology among the party members. Question of his being a Muslim and his party position raised several eyebrows after he quit. The secularist outlook was put to question.

Coalition or departing from a parent party is a common phenomenon in Indian political scenario. The formation of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), dates back to such an incident of depart from the parent party, Indian National Congress (INC). Be it ideology or on any other issue, differences are natural to arrive amongst the members of an association. But the coalition of these parties later on to contest elections is an evidence of the crux of any political ideology or agenda which remains the same throughout.

History: Nationalist Congress Party was formed when few members of the Indian National Congress objected to the right or position of Italian born Sonia Gandhi in the Indian National Congress. They disputed her membership in the party. It was founded on 25th May, 1999.

Famous leaders of the Nationalist Congress Party: Few of the team members of the Nationalist Congress Party are Sharad Pawar (the founder, president), P. A. Snagma, Tariq Anwar, Supriya Sule (Loksabha member). Many other eminent leaders brightened the party during its inception and still continuing with full support.

  1. Sharad Govindrao Pawar: born on 12th December 1940, he is one of the most promising and popular amongst the party members. He serves as the president of NCP. Pawar even served as the CM of Maharashtra.
  2. Purono Agitok Sangma: born on 1st September 1947, breathed his last on 4th March 2016. He was one of the former speakers of Loksabha and became the CM of Meghalaya from 1988 to 1990.
  3. Tariq Anwar: born on 16th January 1951, Anwar started as a student leader for INC. Later on he founded the NCP along with Sharad Pawar. Though recently he had left the party.

Headquarters: Headquartered in 10, Bishmabhar Marg, New Delhi, 110001.

Symbol: The party symbolises a clock timed 10.10, with an alarm and 2 legs. The clock is embeddedwithin the tricoloured Indian flag..

The Party Aims for Secularism and Equality

The party’s objective aims at secularism and equality. It has not totally deviated from the basic ideology of the Indian National Congress. Throughout it has committed itself towards the ideal of social justice and tolerance for all religion. Since the start it has aimed to maintain a healthy social harmony amongst all the sects of the society. Its self-proclaimed slogan is ‘strengthen India as a sovereign, socialist, secular, and democratic republic.’

The Party has its biggest win in the year 1999

Nationalist Congress Party has gradually maintained its place and prominence in states like Andaman and Nicobar, Kerala, Assam, Gujarat, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh etc. its biggest win was the 1999 electoral contest at Maharashtra, where the Nationalist Congress Party won 58 out of 223 seats. In 2004 the Nationalist Congress Party became one and allied with the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government.


Related posts

List of Top 10 Famous Political Leaders in Brazil


RIP Manohar Parrikar-former Defence Minister, Goa CM, veteran politician passes away


BJP and Congress in 2019 Lok Sabha elections


BJP releases poll manifesto for 2019 Lok Sabha Elections


Best Politicians in India


BJP rebel Shatrughan Sinha to join Congress soon