Odisha Political Background

Odisha, surrounded by the main political state from all four sides and a rich political history, has a rich political tradition. This state has a significant place in the struggle for independence with the British. The state was granted a complete state status in 1950 and Indian National Congress was the first party to form a government. Later its supremacy was challenged by Biju Janata Dal, formed by the local stalwart, Biju Pattnaik. BJD took over the power later and won in last three consecutive elections. This is the most powerful progressive force at present Orissa led by Naveen Patnaik, son of Biju Patnaik. Currently, there are a number of active unregistered political parties in Orissa.


Main Political Parties in Orissa


The national parties are: BJP – Bharatiya Janata Party, BSP – Bahujan Samaj Party, CPI – Communist Party of India, CPM – Communist Party of India, Marxist, INC – Indian National Congress, NCP – Nationalist Congress Party

The regional parties are: BJD – Biju Janata Dal, JMM – Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, AITC – All India Trinamool Congress    JD(U) – Janata Dal(United), LJP – Lok Jan Shakti Party    RSP – Revolutionary Socialist Party, SP – Samajwadi Party.

The Legislature


The state of Orissa has a unicameral legislature with one house only.


State Legislative Assembly


Vidhan Sabha or state legislation is situated in the capital city of Bhubaneswar. There is a total of 147 Assembly constituencies which is represented by 147 MLAs or Members of Parliament. 146 candidates are elected while one member is nominated from the Anglo-Indian community. Out of them, 90 Assembly seats are reserved for General candidates, 24 seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates and 33 Assembly seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribe contestants.

Odisha Lok Sabha Election 2014-An Overview

As per the speculations and exit polls, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) grabbed all majority of seats. Few of the major political parties in Odisha like Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), and Communist Party of India (CPI) had a hard luck in Lok Sabha elections 2014, in spite of powerful election campaigns. The Chief Minister of the state is Shri Naveen Patnaik. The 2009 Lok Sabha elections were also won by the BJD.

Upcoming Elections

In the recent local body polls, BJP has surprisingly grabbed the opposition seat from Indian National Congress. BJP has potentially proved that it has a chance in upcoming elections and as well as eyeing for CM seat. Indian National Congress had been the last most prominent party in the state may speed up the campaigning to turn the results in its favor. Though BJD remains a strong obstacle for both major party in upcoming elections as well. Let’s keep our finger crossed this time.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”odisha-election-news”]