Political History of Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh was governed by Congress Legislature Party since November 2011 and was to complete its full term in October 2016. This government was toppled by 21 rebel congress leaders led by Kalikho Pul. Many reasons were cited for the rebellious nature of Congress MLA S. Corruption by then CM was also cited to be the major reason. There were also allegations of instigation from BJP to congress members to be rebel and that BJP wanted to rule the state by proxy of president’s rule.

After a political crisis in 2016, President’s rule was imposed by then President Pranab Mukherjee. In February 2016 Kalikho Pul became the Chief Minister when 14 disqualified MLAs were reinstated by the Supreme Court. On 13 July 2016 Supreme Court dismissed the advancement of then governor for advancing assembly session which is considered to be the implementation of the President’s rule in the state.

The key political players in Arunachal Pradesh are Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress and People’s Party of Arunachal Pradesh. There are only two Lok Sabha Constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh. At the time of major political unrest in the year 2015, Arunachal Pradesh has witnessed three Chief Ministers. Arunachal Pradesh received another jolt when CM Nabam Tuki, recommended Governor Rajkhowa to drop four senior members from his council of ministers. Chief Minister and 42 MLAs shift together to BJP ally. Two months after its government in Arunachal Pradesh was restored following a Supreme Court order, Congress was left squirming with CM Pema Khandu defecting with all but one of the 42 party MLAs plus the speaker to People’s Party of Arunachal Pradesh outfit allied with BJP-led NDA.

After the mass defections, 30 Congress MLAs who had gone to PPA returned to Congress in July 2016 when Pema Khandu became CM of them, 29 are back in PPA.

In 2014 elections, PPA had won 5 seats. The five legislators later defected to Congress. Now all of them are back in PPA.

PPA ruled Arunachal Pradesh from March 3 to July 13, where they had formed government once before on September 18, 1979 under Tomo Riba, which lasted for 46 days.

Nevertheless, although the suspension of an elected government isn’t desirable, imposing President’s rule in the state isn’t bad idea: It will put the center firmly in control, there would be no hindrance to the army executing its duties, and policing will not suffer.

Related posts

Political Parties in Arunachal Pradesh


About Arunachal Pradesh Elections


List of Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh


Political Movement in Arunachal Pradesh


Famous Political Leaders in Arunachal Pradesh