Political History of Meghalaya

Meghalaya was formed by carving out two districts from the state of Assam the United Khasi Hills and the Garo Hills on 21 January 1972. Before attaining full statehood, Meghalaya was given semi-autonomous status in 1970.

The Khasi, Garo, and Jaintia tribes had their own kingdoms until they came under British administration in the 19th century. Later the British incorporated Meghalaya into Assam in 1835. The region enjoyed semi-independent status by virtue of a treaty relationship with the British Crown. When Bengal was portioned, Meghalaya became part of the new province of East Bengal and Assam. However, when the partition was reversed in 1912, Meghalaya became a part of the provinAce of Assam.

At t5he time of Independence of India in 1947, present day Meghalaya constituted two districts of Assam and enjoyed limited autonomy within the state of Assam. A movement for a separate Hill state began in 1960. The Assam Reorganization (Meghalaya) Act of 1969 accorded an autonomous status to the state of Meghalaya. The Act came into effect on 2 April 1970, and an autonomous state of Meghalaya was born out of Assam. The autonomous state had a 37-member legislature in accordance with the sixth schedule to the Indian Constitution.

In 1971, the Parliament passed the North-Eastern Areas Act, 1971, which conferred full statehood on the autonomous state of Meghalaya. Meghalaya attained statehood on 21 January 1972.

The political system in Meghalaya needs a grassroots approach in order that the political scenario will see the light of the day.

Related posts

Famous Political Leaders in Meghalaya


About Meghalaya Elections


Political Parties in Meghalaya


List of Chief Minister of Meghalaya


Political Movement in Meghalaya