Political History of Mizoram

Mizoram was originally a part of Assam. It became a Union Territory in 1972.

After a tripartite agreement was signed between the centre, the Mizoram government and the erstwhile terrorist outfit in the name of a political party Mizo National Front (MNF) in 1986 ended their two decade long terrorism in the northeastern state of India. Hence, Mizoram was established on 20 February, 1987.

The state has a unicameral state legislature. Although the Mizo National Front won the 1998 and 2003 state elections, the Congress has been in power under Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla since 2008, winning the polls in 2008 and 2013. Congress had also won the only parliamentary seat for Mizoram in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

In the last state election in 2013, Congress won 34 out of 40 seats in the Assembly while the MNF won only five. The past four elections shows the three major political parties in Mizoram, INC, MNF, MPC has been in rule for majority of the time since the state’s existence.

Politics in Mizoram takes place in a Multi-party democratic framework, considering the overall context of the national politics of India. The politics of Mizoram is dominated by two political parties i.e. Mizo National Front and Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee, which is a part of the Indian National Congress. Since 1972 there has been an alternate government in the state of Mizoram with these two major political-fronts.

2018 is all set to hold Mizoram Assembly Elections, where this time many other new entrants as well as new alliances will be on ground competing with decade old political-fronts. BJP looks to make a mark in a state which has key players like Congress and Mizoram National Front.

Related posts

Famous Political Leaders in Mizoram


Political Parties in Mizoram


About Mizoram Elections


List of Chief Minister of Mizoram


Political Movement in Mizoram