Political History of Rajasthan

The historical backdrop of the Indian province of Rajasthan is around 5000 years of age. The historical backdrop oh History of Rajasthan can be arranged into three sections attributable to the distinctive ages i.e. Ancient, Medieval, and Modern.

Old Period up to 1200 AD

Rajput groups developed and held their influence over various parts of Rajasthan from around 700 AD. Before that, Rajasthan was a piece of a few republics in History of Rajasthan. It was a piece of the Mauryan Empire. Other significant republics that overwhelmed this district incorporate the Malavas, Arjunyas, Yaudhyas, Kushans, Saka Satraps, Guptas and Hunas.

The Rajput tribes command in Indian History was amid the period from the eighth to the twelfth century AD. The Pratihars ruled Rajasthan and a large portion of northern India amid 750-1000 AD. Between 1000-1200 AD, Rajasthan saw the battle for amazingness between Chalukyas, Parmars and Chauhans.

Medieval Period, 1201-1707

Around 1200 AD a piece of Rajasthan went under Muslim Rulers. The main focuses of their forces were Nagaur and Ajmer. Ranthambore was likewise under their suzerainty. Toward the start of the Thirteenth century AD, the most noticeable and effective territory of Rajasthan was Mewar.

Present day Period 1707-1947

Rajasthan had never been joined politically until its control by Mughal Emperor- Akbar. Akbar mad a bound together region of Rajasthan. Mughal control began to decay after 1707. The political breaking down of Rajasthan was caused by the dismantling of the Mughal Empire. The Marathas entered Rajasthan upon the decrease of the Mughal Empire. In 1755 they possessed Ajmer. The start of the nineteenth Century was set apart by the assault of the Pindaris.

Before the period of Rajputs this state was divided into some parts and these parts were ruled by various Kshatriya tribes or castes like- Gurjars, Meenas, Jats and Yadavs etc. Jalore and Sirohi were ruled by Gurjar-pratihar vansha. Hadoti and dhundhad region were ruled by Meenas. They have ruled Bundi until 1349 AD. Rao Deo Hada took Hadoti region from Rao Jaita Singh Meena by doing fraud with a Meena Baraat. Dhaulpur and Bharatpur are two states which were ruled by Jats and Karauli was ruled by Yadavs and Meenas of that area. Udaipur and Chittorgarh were ruled by Rathore Rajputs. Later Rajputs took every part of Rajasthan under their kingdom. It is also said by some historians that Rajputs are the mixture race of above mentioned castes and tribes.

Related posts

List of Famous BJP and Congress Political Leaders in Rajasthan


Political Movement in Rajasthan


About Rajasthan Elections


Governor of Rajasthan


Top political leaders and politicians in Congress party Rajasthan


Famous Political Parties in Rajashthan