Political History of Uttarakhand

At the time, President Pranab Mukherjee has imposed President’s Rule which in political terms is also referred as the State Emergency, in the State of Uttarakhand in the wake of constitutional breakdown under Article 356 of the Indian Constitution.

In this regard President has signed the proclamation State Emergency based on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet. With this proclamation, Congress Government headed by Chief Minister Harish Rawat ceased to function and the State Assembly has been suspended.

The constitutional breakdown in the state was due to rebellious approach in then ruling Congress Government after its nine (9) MLA’s rebelled, bringing the present government in minority in the State Legislature.These 9 rebel MLA’s were disqualified including Former CM, Vijay Bahuguna by the speaker under the anti-defection law. This disqualification had reduced the strength of the 70- member house to 61. So the final tally of congress MLA’s was of 27 and BJP had 28 MLA’s.

Both the major political parties like Ruling BJP and opposition party Indian National Congress had been predominant in the states politics of Uttarakhand since November 2000 when new state of Uttaranchal was carved out of Uttar Pradesh and later was named as Uttarakhand.

The 70 member state assembly was first dominated by the BJP government since 1999 to 2002, while the Congress gained power in the year 2002 to 2007. The whole scenario came under a major change when the state of Uttarakhand witnessed State Elections in 2007 and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was set to form its government for the second time and this time the Party had an alliance with the state regional party, Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD).

Since then the patent blame game of the political ups and down’s in the state has ever been started. Where the state High Court is undertaking the plea challenging disqualification of rebel Congress MLA’s and also a major set-back has taken place for the Central government in Uttarakhand where High Court set aside the imposition of President’s rule in the hill state. The only motive of this political staged drama allegedly, is said to be a demand of better regime formed in Uttarakhand.

Related posts

List of Chief Minister of Uttarakhand


Voting Structure of Uttarakhand


Top political leaders and politician in BJP party Uttarakhand


Famous political leaders in Congress party Uttarakhand


Political parties in Uttarakhand


Political Movement Uttarakhand