Political Movement in Telangana

In 1953, the government of India appointed a States Reorganisation Commisision (SRC) to carve out the states in linguistic basis. There were 2 Telugu speaking states (Hyderabad and Andhra) in India in 1953, which have to be merged.

Discussions were made between the leaders of Hyderabad (Telangana) and Andhra states to merge into a single state and to safeguard the interests of the Telangana people. A Gentlemen’s Agreement was made between the leaders of the 2 states in 1956 and they merged into a single state, Andhra Pradesh in 1956.

According to the agreement, the Telangana people have to be given priority while filling the jobs in Telangana and the Andhra people have to be given the next. But, this didn’t happen and the 1st Telangana agitation was started in 1969 by the then Telangana leaders and the students of Osmania University. However, the agitations were suppressed by the Central and the State government. Many students lost their lives in 1969 agitation and Gun Park, a memorial near Assembly was built to commemorate students who lost their lives in the struggles.

There were agitations again in 1972, the agitators were not less than freedom fighters, but were not successful. On 21 September 1973, the Government of India came up with a Six-Point Formula to achieve political stability in the Telugu state and was agreed upon by the leaders of the two regions to prevent any recurrence of such agitations in the future.

From 1972 to 1997, there were no trials for the Telangana state creation. In 1997, the BJP state unit of Andhra Pradesh passed a resolution seeking a separate Telangana. But, it was not successful to achieve statehood to the Telangana Region. In 2001, Kalvakuntla Chandrashekhar Rao, quit TDP and started a new political party Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), with an agenda to achieve statehood to the Telangana. In 2002, Lal Krishna Advani, the then Home Minister of India, rejected the proposal of creating the state of Telangana, stating a threat to the National Integrity.

Since then, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) with the leaders of other political parties and the students of the Universities in Telangana went in to the Telangana Assembly elections, fought for the state and were successful under the leadership KCR. The government employees, the Lawyers, workers of Singareni Calories and many others fought for the cause. Finally, the state of Telangana was created on 2 June 2014.

The credit can’t be given to a single person or a party as per the History of Telangana. But, the government gained peace and support only after KCR started the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party. Interesting it would be to see who would win the Telangana Legislative Assembly Election of 2019.

Related posts

List of Chief Minister of Telangana


Political Parties in Telangana


About Telangana Elections


Famous Political Leaders in Telangana


Political History of Telangana