Political Parties in Goa

Goa, an Indian state has many political parties in functioning. The revival strategy of the different political parties in Goa for winning elections puts each and every section of the parties at tough fight where the ruling party in Goa consists of the party or coalition garnering the most seats in the state elections and enjoying the support of a simple majority of the House. Following are the listings of the most famous and popular political parties in Goa.

Major National Parties:

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): – BJP is one of the most powerful and famous political parties in Goa with a clear majority. The government of Goa consists of forty members Legislative Assembly which is headed by Chief Minister, Manohar Parrikar of the BJP.

Indian National Congress (INC): – Congress has  had lost the chance to form the government in Goa, despite emerging as the single-largest party in last assembly elections, it has slipped into a political abyss deeper than before. Though one of the most popular political parties in Goa, Congress now creates a decisive policy to revive situation in Goa.

Minor National- level Parties:

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by Sharad Pawar, Churchill Alemao, and Jose Philip D’Souza

Trinamool Congress (TMC) led by Mamata Banerjee, Late Wilfred de Souza

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) led by Arvind Kejriwal and Elvis Gomes

Shiv Sena (SS) led by Uddhav Thackeray

Regional Parties:

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) led by Sudin Dhavalikar

United Goans Party (UGP)

United Goans Democratic Party (UGDP) led by Jorson Fernandes

Goa Forward Party (GFP) led by Vijai Sardesai

Goa Suraksha Manch (GSM) led by Subhash Velingkar and Anand Shirodkar

Goa Praja Party (GPP) led by Pandurang Raut

Goa Su- Raj Party (GSRP) led by Miccky Pacheco and Mathias Xavier Vaz

Goa Vikas Party (GVP) led by Lyndon Monteiro

Goa Democratic Front (GDF) led by Dayanand Narvekar

Defunct Regional Parties:

United Goans Party (Sequiera Group), led by Late Dr. Jack de Sequeira

United Goans Party (Furtado Group), led by Late Alvaro de Loyola Furtado

United Goans Party (Naik Group), led by Late Babu Naik

Frente Popular, led by Late Bertha Menezes Braganza

Gomant Lok Pokx, led by late Mathany Saldanha

Goa Congress, led by late Wilfred de Souza

Goa Rajiv Congress Party, led by late Wilfred de Souza

Goa People’s Congress, led by Francisco Sardinha

Save Goa Front, led by Churchill Alemao

Indian National Congress (Sheik Hassan), led by Sheikh Hassan Haroon


Related posts

Political History of Goa


Political Movement in Goa


About Goa Elections


Famous Political Leaders in Goa


List of Chief Minister of Goa