Political Parties in Jammu and Kashmir

There are several political parties in formation in the Indian state of Jammu & Kashmir, but the parties differ in extreme situations, like some are of the separatist ideology and some are the cooperatives of the Indian Army and the government.

Following are the listings of one of the most famous and powerful political parties in Jammu and Kashmir.

Jammu & Kashmir National Conference: – JKNC is a state political party, which was earlier named as All Jammu and Kashmir Muslim Conference by Sheikh Abdullah and Chaudhry Ghulam Abbas in 1932. This is one of the most famous political parties in Jammu and Kashmir as it leads the movement for Azad Kashmir. Political ideologies followed are Moderate separatism, Pro-India Re-unification of Kashmir.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): – The new BJP-PDP government has taken the oath of office wherein, Mehbooba Mufti has been declared as the Chief Minister of the state of Jammu & Kashmir representing PDP, and Nirmal Kumar Singh of BJP as the Dy. Chief Minister. This is that the most powerful political parties in the state of Jammu & Kashmir have been in an alliance for the second time.

Indian National Congress: – One of the most popular political parties in Jammu & Kashmir, Congress holds 12 seats in the J&K Legislative Assembly.

Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (PDP): – One of the top 5 political parties in Jammu and Kashmir, PDP has its own member as the Chief Minister of the state and the party was formed by Mufti Mohammed Sayeed. Political ideology followed is Regionalism. The party is in alliance with BJP in the state of Jammu & Kashmir.

All Jammu & Kashmir Patriotic Peoples Front: – One of the most famous groups as the party a former islamist guerilla group turned themselves in to the government in 1995 and developed cooperation with the Indian Army.

Jammat-e-Islami Kashmir: – It’s a cadre based religio-political organization. The party is in existence on the very basic ideas of resolving the conflict in the state with UN or throughtripartite talks between India & Pakistan and with involvement of real representatives of Jammu & Kashmir.

Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party: – The party was founded on 23 March 1982, with an aim to demolish corruption, criminalization, and drug menace and with an intention to establish real democracy through revolution.

Praja Parishad Jammu and Kashmir: – This party was brought into existence by dissidents of the Bharatiya Janata Party, in 2005, which fought against the special status of J&K (Article 370 of the Indian Constitution).

Democratic Janata Dal (Jammu and Kashmir): – The party was merged with National Conference but later revived as a separate party.

Jammu and Kashmir Democratic Freedom Party: – This is a separatist political party with an aim of tripartite negotiations between India, Pakistan and Kashmir.

Mallah Insaf Party: – MIP was formed prior to the 2002 state assembly elections.

Related posts

List of Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir


Political Movement in Jammu and Kashmir


About Jammu and Kashmir Elections


Political History of Jammu and Kashmir


Famous Political Leaders in Jammu and Kashmir