Structure of Parliament India


The parliament is the superior governing body in any country. The Parliament of India is one of the biggest parliamentary houses all over the world. It primarily composes of two houses which are segregated as Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. While the Rajya is widely known as (Upper house)Councilof states, Lok Sabha is known as house of the people (LowerHouse). The president is termed as the highest authority in the legislature of the country and holds the power to summon and dissolve the either of the houses of parliament.

Rajya Sabha:

As per the stated Constitution of India, Rajya Sabha popularly is known as council of states which is

the upper house of the parliament of India. The maximum numbers of members Rajya Sabha can have as per the constitution of India is 250.But the amended laws have provision for only 245 members. The Rajya sabha members are elected  by the state and Union territories, while the exalted president can also appoint 12 members in Rajya sabha for their significant contributions in verticals like sports, arts, Literature etc. in simple terms the citizens elect their MLA’s and the MLA’s elect the Rajya Sabha members.The Rajya sabha is a permanent house and cannot be dissolved but one-third of the Rajya sabha members retire every second and their place is filled by the newly elected members. The members sit for six year term where 1/3rd members retires every two years.

Lok Sabha:

The Lok Sabha is vastly known as lower house of the parliament of India. The members of the Lok sabha is elected by the general elections and also with first-past-the-post system, where the members hold their seats for five years, in each state and it can be dissolved by the president. The Council of Ministers adds upto the advice to the President.  The constitution of India allows maximum 552 members in the lower house however, at present Lok Sabha has 545. Seats among which 543 members are elected via election and 2 members are from Anglo-Indian community which are elected by the president of India.

The 16th Lok Sabha was elected in the year 2014 and is the latest to the date.

Prime Differences betweenRajya Sabha and Lok Sabha:

  • Lok Sabha is the House of People, where people who are eligible to vote can elect their representative by way of direct elections while Rajya Sabha is the Council of States, where the representatives are indirectly elected by the elected representative of the Assembles of States and Union Territories.
  • Rajya sabha is a permanent body while the Lok Sabha elections are held after every 5 years.
  • Rajya Sabha can have maximum of 250 members while the Limit for Lok Sabha is 552 members.
  • The minimum age limit for being a Rajya Sabha member is 30 years while for Lok Sabha age barrier is 25 years.
  • Vice president of India is the representative of Rajya Sabha while the Speaker is the representative of Lok Sabha.