Top 10 Most Educated Politicians in India

Indian Politicians and their qualifications always becomes a hot topic every time a new government comes into existence. The good part is amongst the many, there are a selected few boasting high qualification.

Read on to know about the most educated politicians of India-

Manmohan Singh –He is undoubtedly the most educated Prime Minister of India the country has ever had. He earned his D. Phil degree from Nuffield College-Oxford University (1960) and Economic Tripos from St John’s College- University of Cambridge (1957). In addition, he completed B.A. Economics in 1952 and M.A. Economics in 1954 from the Punjab University in Economics, and 1954.

Chidambaram- The former Union Minister of Finance and one of the best leaders in the world completed his MBA in 1968 from the Harvard Business School. He did his masters from Loyola College, Chennai, did his Bachelors in Law from the Madras Law College and B.Sc Statistics from Chennai’s Presidency College.

Kapil Sibal- This Ex-Minister of Law and Justice went on to Harvard Law School in 1977 for pursuing LLM programme. He completed M.A in History and LLB from University of Delhi. Sibal is an alumni of St John’s High School, Chandigarh.

Najma Heptullah- Our current Minister of Minority Affairs and Ex- Vice President of the BJP earned her PhD in Cardiac Anatomy and M.Sc Degree in Zoology from Vikram University, Ujjain.

Jairam Ramesh- He completed his M.Sc in 1977 in Public Policy and Public Management, B.Tech in 1975 in Mechanical Engineering and graduation from the Indian institute of Technology Bombay.

Subramaniam Swamy- Subramaniam Swamy pursued PhD Economics in 1965 from the Harvard University. Plus, he earned a Master’s degree in Statistics from Kolkata’s Indian Statistical Institute. Swamy has also a Master’s degree in Mathematics from the reputed Hindu College, University of Delhi.

Dr Harsh Vardhan- He is one of the highly qualified members of the ruling cabinet. Our current Minister of Science and Technology completed his Master of Surgery in Otorhinolaryngology from Kanpur’s from Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Memorial Medical College. He graduated from the same college in 1979.

Dr Murli Manohar Joshi- Dr Joshi earned a doctoral degree and M.Sc degree from Allahabad University. He has pursued BSc from the reputed Meerut College. His amazing works have enlisted him amongst the great leaders in history

Shashi Tharoor- Having completed his PhD at the young age of 22, Tharoor pursued graduation from Tufts University’s The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in 1975. He has also earned B.A History degree from University of Delhi. His extensive knowledge and intelligence has made him one of the famous politicians who is always in international political news.

Salman Khurshid- Khurshid earned his master’s degree from Oxford University’s  St Edmund Hall. He is a graduate from St Stephen’s College, University of Delhi.

Akhilesh Yadav: The current president of the Samajwadi Party is one of the most qualified politicians in India. He went to the Dholpur Military School in Rajasthan. He then obtained his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Civil Environmental engineering at Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering (SJCE). He also passed Master’s degree in Environmental engineering from the University Of Sydney in Australia.

Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia: He is a Member of Parliament, representing the Guna Constituency in the state of Madhya Pradesh and is a member of the Indian National Congress political party. He completed his schooling from the Campion School and at The Doon School, Dehradun. He graduated in Economics from Harvard University in 1993. In 2001, he received an MBA degree from the Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Sachin Pilot: The present president of the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee studied at Air Force Bal Bharati School, New Delhi. He holds a B.A. degree from St. Stephens College, University of Delhi, a diploma in marketing from Institute of Management and Technology (I.M.T Ghaziabad) and an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA.

Arun Jaitley: The Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs, Arun Jaitley is a highly educated politician of India. He studied at St. Xavier’s School, Delhi from 1957–69. He graduated with a honours degree in commerce, B .Com from Shri Ram College of Commerce, New Delhi in 1973. He acquired an LLB degree from the Faculty of Law, University of Delhi in 1977.

Manohar Parrikar: The Chief Minister of Goa formerly studied at Loyola High School, Margao. He completed his secondary education in Marathi and went on to graduate in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay in 1978. He is the first ever IIT alumnus to serve as an MLA of an Indian state. In 2001, he was awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award by the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay.

Related posts

‘Mission Shakti’ places India fourth in the list after US, Russia and China: PM Modi


Telangana Assembly Election 2018


Who will win 2019 General Elections in India, and Why


Dharmendra Yadav says won’t keep any relationship with brother-in-law for joining BJP


Modi sends Pakistan on back foot


Nitish Kumar confident of winning all 40 Lok Sabha seats