Top 10 Political Parties in India

India carries a multi-party system, where the different political parties are categorized as regional, state, or national level parties. Here is the list of political parties in India that hold a crucial place in the country’s democracy.

  1. Bhartiya Janta Party

Formed in 1980 BJP is one of the oldest national political parties in India. It’s founder member was Syama Prasad Mujherjee with L.K. Advani and Atal Bihari Vajpayee its first prominent leaders. At present, Amit Shah is serving as the party President with the leadership of Narendra Modi.

  1. Indian National Congress

Founded during British Raj in 1885, the Indian National Congress remained in power during a long period after the country’s independence. The Nehru-Gandhi dynasty dominates the party with Rajeev Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, and Indira Gandhi being the Prime Ministers. Currently, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi are the key figures of the party.

  1. All India Trinamool Congress

Next in the list of political parties is Trinamool Congress that was founded in 1998. Headquartered in the Indian state of West Bengal currently it is headed by Mamata Banerjee, who is also serving as the state’s Chief Minister at present.

  1. Shiv Sena

Balasaheb Thackeray formed this Indian political party in 1966. Headquartered in Maharashtra state- Mumbai, currently his son Uddhav Thackeray heads the party.

  1. Telugu Dasam Party

Next in the list of Indian political party names is Telugu Desam Party. Based in the state of Andhra Pradesh it was founded in 1982. At present, TDP is headed by N. Chandrababu Naidu who is also the ruling Chief Minister of the state.

  1. Telangana Rashtra Samiti

Formed in 2001 and headquartered in the Telangana state this party runs under the leadership of Chandrashekhar Rao at present.

  1. Nationalist Congress Party

The three ex-members of Indian National Congress- Sharad Pawar, Tariq Anwar, and P. A. Sangma founded this party in 1999.

  1. Bahujan Samaj Party

Bahujan Samaj Party is next in the list of most popular national parties in India. Representing the Bahujans (Scheduled Tribes, Scheduled Castes, including other Backward Castes and religious minorities) this party was founded by Kanshi Ram. Its current president and leader is Mayawati.

  1. Aam Aadmi Party

Founded in 2012, the Aam Aadmi Party is the current ruling party of Delhi President: Arvind Kejriwal. Its founding members were Arvind Kejriwal, Anand Kumar, Prashant Bhushan, and Yogendra Yadav.

  1. Samajwadi Party

Founded by Mulayam Singh Yadav in 1992, Samajwadi Party is one of the popular national political parties in India. Currently, Akhilesh Yadav serves as the President of this democratic socialist party.

Related posts

Abhinandan ka abhinandan


Aam Aadmi Party


Congress party in Gujarat


The Great Leaders of India


Using Literature festivals for personal agenda


Is there any substance in EVM hacking claim?