Tripura Political Background

Post Independence, Tripura which was a princely state merged with the Union of India in the year 1949. It became a Union Territory on 1 July 1963. Later it was declared a full-fledged state on 21st January 1972. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Indian National Congress (INC) are the main and dominant political parties of the state. Manik Sarkar of the CPI (M) has been the Chief Minister for over two decades, of the state since 1998. The Left Front, an alliance comprising of CPI (M), CPI, Forward Block and Revolutionary Socialist Party, has remained in power in the state of Tripura since 1978, except for one year in 1988 when the INC formed the government.

Main Political Parties in Tripura

National political parties are: , Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (CPI), Revolutionary Socialist Party    All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), Trinamool Congress (TMC).

The main regional parties are-  Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), National Conference of Tripura (NCT)    Tipraland State Party (TSP), Tripura Peoples Front (TPF)    Twipra Dophani Sikla Srwngnai Motha (TDSSM), Ganamukti Parishad (GMP), National Socialist Party of Tripura (NSPT)    Janganotantrik Morcha (JM), Tripura Ganatantrik Manch (TGM).

The Legislature

Tripura has a unicameral legislature comprising of one house only.

State Legislative Assembly

The state Legislative Assembly of Tripura, also known as the Vidhan Sabha consists of 60 members, elected through polls every five years subject to dissolving before time. Currently, the Assembly is at Gurkhabasti. Recently Assembly elections were held in the state in February 2018.  The last election for the assembly was held in Feb 2013. The CPI (M) won 49 out of the 60 assembly seats.

Tripura Assembly Election 2018-An Overview

Tripura Assembly poll took place on 18 February 2018 for all 60 seats in the house. The BJP-IPFT had a remarkable win in Tripura Assembly polls that ended 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPM-led Left Front in the state. BJP grabbed 23 seats and IPFT grabbed 7, together making a majority. The results are shocking and surprising as BJP could not get any remarkable votes in last Assembly Elections. Definitely Modi Magic has worked wonderfully for the party in the state.

Upcoming Elections

The recent assembly elections have cleared spectacular rise of the BJP in states where it was never given even an outside chance. The Left saw a big downfall and its fortresses crumbled, remaining Congress is retreating in Tripura all these three major changes in politics will definitely have an impact on  Tripura upcoming elections. The downfall of CPI was highly dramatic, the party ruling the state for about two decades, may not stand a chance again.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”tripura-election-news”]