About Tripura Elections

Left in Tripura ruled for decades. CPI (M) was first elected in 1978 in Tripura. They ruled till 1988 but in 1988 Congress led alliance government came into power.

That government is still remembered for huge corruption and lack of security. As a result communists again succeeded to capture Tripura during 1993 while congress pushed back to second position. Meanwhile in centre during UPA 1; Communist parties were in alliance with congress which resulted lack of opposition in Tripura. In 2008 CPI (M) left UPA over the Indo-US Nuclear deal though they remained mild here in Tripura.

It is pretty evident from the above scenario that there was no viable opponent since 1993. During last assembly election TMC led by Mamata Banerjee tried a little bit but their effort was not enough. But now situation has totally changed.

The Left in Tripura was a formidable opponent for BJP to deal with. Manik Sarkar’s pro poor image and the fact that he is the poorest Chief Minister in India didn’t help him sweep elections. Elections in Tripura are conducted since 1952 to elect Members for Tripura Legislative Assembly and Lok Sabha. There are 60 assembly constituencies and 2 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The previous elections to the 10th Tripura Legislative Assembly was held in 2008. As of 2009, of the 60 ACs in Tripura, 20 are reserved for Scheduled Tribes and 10 are reserved for Scheduled Castes. February 2013 Elections in all polling stations were held using Electronic Voting Machines.

The 10th Tripura Assembly had the Left Front which was led by Communist Party of India (Marxist), which was led by Manik Sarkar. This happened after he was being re-elected in 2008. The Left Front had won 46 of the 60 seats in 2008 elections.

The 2018 Tripura Assembly Elections witnessed BJP-IPFT alliance wins two-thirds majority as per the announcement of Election Commission. BJP-IPFT alliance scripted history with Tripura Assembly poll victory where the combination of the alliances marked the end of 25 years of uninterrupted rule of the CPM-Led Left Front in the state. The party captured 23 seats on its own while its alliance partner the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) bagged 7 seats, giving the combine a majority in the House, according to Election Commission (EC).

The Saffron party inflicted a humiliating defeat on the Left Front which had never faced such a situation even when it had never faced such a situation even when it had lost power in 1988 to the Congress-Tripura Upajati Juba Samity combine. This victory came as a surprise for many as the party did not even have a councillor in Tripura.  It had secured less than 2% votes in the 2013 Assembly election in the state.


Related posts

Governor of Tripura


List of Chief Minister of Tripura


Famous Political Leaders in Tripura


Political Parties in Tripura


Political Movement in Tripura


Political History of Tripura