Uttar Pradesh


Uttar Pradesh Political background

Uttar Pradesh is considered as a hub of Indian central politics, as being most populous and fifth largest state. Post Independence, the politics of the state came under the most predominant party of the country, The Indian National Congress. It only became possible in the late nineties, when upcoming regional parties such as Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), came in opposition and challenged the supremacy of strong opponent. The BSP government took over the state in 2007, by winning with a massive difference of votes. Since then major parties in Uttar Pradesh have been SP and BSP, till Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), turned the tables in recent elections and now run an alliance government under Shri Yogi Aadityanath as the Chief Minister of UP.

Political Parties of Uttar Pradesh

The National parties – The Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, The Communist Party of India

The Regional parties – Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Rashtrya Lok Dal

The Legislature

Uttar Pradesh is one of the few states to have a bicameral legislature comprising of two houses

  • The lower house, the Vidhan Sabha or the State Legislative Assembly
  • The Upper house, the Vidhan Parishad or the Legislative council.

State Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha)

Currently, the upper house of the state consists of 403 directly elected members and 1 Anglo-Indian nominated member, till 1967 it had 431 members. The last poll of the Vidhan Sabha was held in March 2012, in seven phases. The total number of participant political parties comprising of national, state and registered (unrecognized) was 222. Approximately 60% of voters have been reported to turn out. Samajwadi Party clearly won with a huge majority of 224 seats, Shri Akhilesh Yadav from the party was appointed as the Chief Minister.

State Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad)

The Lower house of the state has a permanent number of 100 members. The tenure of the elected members is 6 years and 1/6 of the members retire in every two years. 10 members of the Vidhan Parishad are nominated by the Governor and rest 90 is elected by local bodies and electoral colleges.

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Election- 2014- An Overview

In 2014, Lok Sabha Elections, The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came out as a clear winner with a majority of 71 seats out of total 80 seats.Samajwadi party won 5 while the most dominant party in the history, Indian National Congress hardly got 2 seats. Uttar Pradesh has been very important politically in recent 15th Lok Sabha Elections. The elections were held in 6 phases, witnessing an interesting battle in major constituencies like Amethi and Varanasi. Thus, the political background of UP aptly exemplifies how tables could be turned anytime in democratic elections.

Upcoming Elections

Uttar Pradesh encompasses many prime constituencies pertaining to its central location in northern India and proximity to National Capital, New Delhi. This state has given 8 Prime Ministers and the largest number of MPs, to the nation, hence polling results in UP with its massive vote bank, often decide the fate of the central government. As we know 1/4 of the strength of Lok Sabha comes directly from UP, hence all major parties are eyeing for the win in this state.

BJP is looking for its second chance and has a major advantage and is banking upon Mr. Narendra Modi, as Prime Minister of India. At the same time, Congress wants to gain back its 40 years of legacy in the state and other regional parties are in full intense mode of capturing the throne once again. No doubt, the upcoming elections would give a high voltage drama in the major constituencies of Uttar Pradesh.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”uttar-pradesh-election-news”]