Uttarakhand Political background

Uttarakhand was carved out of the state of Uttar Pradesh in 2000. Both predominant parties in the country are two main stakeholders in this state. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ruled over the state between 1999 to 2002, the Indian National Congress (INC) took over in 2002 and remained in power till 2007. The tables were turned again in 2007 elections when BJP formed its coalition government once again by joining hands with Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD). The tourism and hilly state definitely holds a great importance in central politics by representing 5 seats in Lok Sabha.

Political Parties of Uttarakhand: The Bharatiya Janata Party, The Indian National congress, The Bahujan Samaj Party, Uttarakhand Kranti Dal.

The Legislature

Uttarakhand has only one house in the legislature that means a unicameral system of legislation.

State Legislative Assembly

Also known as Vidhan Sabha has tenure of 5 years in the state of Uttarakhand. The number of constituencies is 70 with 70 directly elected members and 1 nominated member of the Anglo Indian community. The Legislative Assembly has its seat in the capital of the state, Dehradun.

Uttarakhand Lok Sabha Election -2014 -An Overview

All major constituencies from the state witnessed a major victory of Bharatiya Janta Party in 16th Lok Sabha Elections. Almora, Nainital, Garhwal, Hardwar and Tehri Garhwal saw an undisputed win of the ruling party and Shri Harish Rawat became the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand. The speculations made in opinion polls were proved to be correct in the newest state.

Upcoming Elections

Uttarakhand has been ruling the hilly state for almost two decades; it has definitely swept away all opposition parties since the new state has been formed. Uttarakhand holds 5 seats in Lok Sabha and has gained a lot of political mileage in past elections. But the task is going to be challenging for the party as it has faced some difficulties in Pauri and Nainital. In the parliament it has lost the political relevance because of the silent leaders.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”uttarakhand-election-news”]