Virat Kohli named Wisden Leading Cricketer for third straight year

Virat Kohli named ‘Cricketer of the Year’ for the third consecutive year by Wisden

Indian Cricket team Captain Virat Kohli’s popularity is increasing day by day, he is now one of the eminent cricketers in the world and his fan and followers are not only limited to Indian boundaries but has gained a world wide popularity for his performances in his matches all around the globe.

In a latest achievement, Virat has been named as the ‘Cricketer of the year’ for the third consecutive year  in the 2019 edition of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, which is published today (Wednesday, April 10).

Kohli, who will lead India’s World Cup campaign in England later this year, has also achieved one of the few accolades to have eluded him in his career so far, by being named as one of Wisden’s Five Cricketers of the Year, the oldest individual award in the sport.

Jos Buttler and Sam Curran were also named among the five cricketers, for their performances in England’s summer campaigns, alongside Rory Burns, Surrey’s championship-winning captain, and Tammy Beaumont, the outstanding player in another successful year for England’s women.

Kohli’s fellow Indian, Smriti Mandhana, is the Leading Cricketer in the women’s game, after racking up 1291 runs across limited-over’s formats, including 13 half-centuries, while Rashid Khan, the Afghanistan leg spinner is the Leading Twenty20 Cricketer for the second year in a row.

Kohli, however, was the sport’s dominant figure in 2018, making 2735 international runs at 68.37 across all formats, more than 700 more than his nearest challenger, England’s Joe Root.

In that time, he scored a remarkable 11 centuries in 37 innings, seven of which came on India’s tours of South Africa, England and Australia, traditionally three of toughest venues for overseas batsmen.

His form on the Test tour of England was particularly outstanding – although India slipped to a 4-1 series defeat, Kohli himself made 593 runs in the five Tests at 59.30, including hundreds at Edgbaston and Trent Bridge.

Mandhana, who won the Leading Women’s Cricketer of the Year, scored 669 and 662 runs in ODIs and T20Is during the course of 2018. She was also in stellar form in the Women’s Super League, compiling 421 runs at an astounding strike rate of 174.68.

Wisden has been listing out Cricketers of the Year since 1889.

Related posts

Women Freedom Fighters of India


Will BJP Gain Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018?


Top 10 Greatest Leaders in the World


Pramod Sawant-ayurveda practitioner, sworn in as new Goa CM


Indian National Congress Leaders List


Top 10 most Popular Online Magazines in the World