West Bengal

West Bengal Political background

In 1947, the Hindu-dominated western part of British Bengal Province became the Indian state of West Bengal after the partition. The East part was joined with Pakistan. The major force in the state was Indian National Congress that ruled the state throughout the sixties. , the CPM came to power in the seventies. Jyoti Basu of the CPM was the chief minister of the state from 1977 to 2000, and also became the longest-serving chief minister of any state in India. Later, a major regional group All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) was formed in 1998, and Mamta Banerjee from the party won the Assembly elections in 2011 and also became CM breaking the 34 years of legacy of CPM.

Major Political Parties in West Bengal

The Communist Party of India (CPI), The Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM), The Indian National Congress, The Bharatiya Janata Party, The main state parties are:, All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), All India Forward Bloc, Revolutionary Socialist Party, Gorkha National Liberation Front (registered but unrecognized),, Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (registered but unrecognized), Democratic Socialist Party (Prabodh Chandra), Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist).

The Legislature

The state of West Bengal has a unicameral legislature with one house only.

State Legislative Assembly

State Legislative Assembly also called Vidhan Sabha has a tenure of 5 years subject to dissolving. The Legislative Assembly has 295 members out of which 294 are directly elected and one member is nominated from the Anglo-Indian community. Last elections were won by TMC which formed the government in the state.

 West Bengal Lok Sabha Election 2014-An Overview

All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) grabbed all major seats in the 16th Lok Sabha elections. Out of total 42 seats, it won 34 seats and Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM) could merely win two seats. The elections were held in five phases for all 42 parliamentary seats. TMC had earlier won 19 seats in 2009 General Elections. The result was also predicted in exit polls and other major parties of the state could not even get a single seat in the state.

Upcoming Elections

Mamta Banerjee is a very popular politician in West Bengal, she has a full support and likely to win the next Lok Sabha election 2019. Bharatiya Janta Party may grab few more seats but win the majority is still not in the cards against TMC. BJP and other parties may face a rocky road in upcoming elections as per the stronghold of TMC in the state.

Related Posts

[catlist name=”west-bengal-election-news”]