Women Politicians in India

Women Politicians in India

Women who have excelled in politics have been able to achieve it on the fact of their own caliber and strong will.

Women, in emerging India has been encouraged and provided enough space and scope to collaborate with different spheres of social revolution including politics. Many women have emerged as an idol in India’s social attitude and also as a successful politician. Here is a list of women politicians in India.

Sonia Gandhi – Born as Antonia Edvige Albina Maino is an Italian born politician and former President of Indian National Congress, has been in power since 1997. She was elected as the leader of the Congress and since she was the President of the Indian National Congress. She was ranked as the ninth most powerful person on the planet.

Sushma Swaraj – Swaraj is currently the Minister of External Affairs of India. She is a senior leader of BJP and former President of Bharatiya Janata Party. She holds a very high and a strong profile in terms of politics. She is one of the most popular woman political leaders in India. Sushma Swaraj is a former union cabinet minister of India and a former Chief Minister of Delhi.

Nirmala Sitharaman – Sitharaman, an Indian women politician is the most powerful women politician in India and is currently the Minister of Defence of India. She is the second defence minister of India since the country’s formation in 1947. Nirmala is also a member of the Rajya Sabha for Karnataka.

Maneka Gandhi – Maneka Gandhi is the Member of the Lok Sabha and is the Union Cabinet Minister for Women & Child Development under Narendra Modi government. Maneka is a renowned animal rights activist, environmentalist and also the widow of Indian politician Sanjay Gandhi. Under her profile, she is a famous woman political leader.

Mamata Banerjee – Mamata Banerjee is the eleventh and the current Chief Minister of West Bengal. She is the most dynamic and a famous woman politician in India. She is the first woman to hold the office of CM. with several key departments of government under her control; she is also a firebrand orator and is popularly referred as “DiDi”. Previously she was Minister of Railways, Coal and Minister of State for Human Resource and Development.

Vasundhara Raje – Vasundhara Raje is currently the Chief Minister of Rajasthan and is the first woman CM of Rajasthan. Raje belongs to the Royal Maratha family and has held several posts in the Bharatiya Janata Party. Since 1989 she has won four consecutive elections to the Lok Sabha from Jhalawar, Rajasthan. She is a strong and a focused woman politicians in India.

Mayawati – Born in Uttar Pradesh, India; she is a woman icon for Dalits all over India. Often referred as Behenji, Mayawati has spent four terms as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. One of the most popular woman politicians in India, Mayawati is currently the National President of the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Uma Bharti – Uma Ragini Bharti is currently the Cabinet Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation in the Union Government of India. She has been since early age associated with Bharatiya Janata Party and had played a prominent part in the Ayodhya Ram Janmabhoomi movement. She has served as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh.

Smriti Irani – Smriti Irani, a former television actress has made a big name in the field of Indian politics. Irani is a Member of Parliament being elected to the Rajya Sabha from the state of Gujarat. Currently, she is the Textile Minister in the Government of India. She was earlier appointed as the Human Resource Development minister in the Narendra Modi government.

Jayalalithaa – Jayaram Jayalalithaa was the Indian politician and has held the post of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for a brief period of 14 years. She was also the General Secretary of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK). One of the most powerful political leaders of her time, Jayalalithaa was called as “Amma” and Puratchi Thalaiva by her followers. Jayalalithaa was the youngest Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

Mehbooba Mufti – Mehbooba Mufti is the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu & Kashmir and India’s second Muslim woman to hold the office of Chief Minister. Currently she is the President of the Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Sumitra Mahajan – One of the popular woman politicians in India, Sumitra Mahajan is currently the Speaker of the 16th Lok Sabha. She is currently the longest serving woman member of the Lok Sabha. Mahajan is the eldest and senior most among woman Members of the Parliament and also she is the second woman to be elected as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

Related posts

Political Parties in India


Richest President in the World  


Who are the best social media users in Indian Politics?


BJP and Congress in 2019 Lok Sabha elections


Sessions Court hears Sunanda Pushkar death case


PM Modi meets Sunny Deol, tweets, ‘Hindustan Jindabad tha, aur rahega’